Tuesday, December 2, 2014

"Autumn Winds" by Charlotte Hubbard

About the Book

The leaves are falling and there's a chill in the air in Willow Ridge, Missouri, the quaint, quiet Amish town where love, loyalty, and faith in the Old Ways are about to be put to the test ...

Autumn Winds

Winds of change are blowing through Willow Ridge, and they're bringing a stranger to the Sweet Seasons Bakery. At first, widowed Miriam Lantz has misgivings about Ben Hooley, a handsome but rootless traveling blacksmith. But as she gets to know the kind-hearted newcomer, she wonders if his arrival was providential. Perhaps she could find love again--if only there weren't so many obstacles in the way. With Bishop Knepp relentlessly pursuing her hand in marriage and the fate of her beloved cafĂ© at stake, Miriam must listen to God and her heart to find the happiness she longs for and the love she deserves. 

This book was released in September 2012
I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

My Review

“Autumn Winds” by Charlotte Hubbard is the second book in her 'Season of the Heart' series and what a wonderful story. It is not often that I find myself having to put down a book because I am so embarrassed by something that is going on, but through the first part of the book, I had to do just that, but the story is written so well that well I was embarrassed by what was going on and fearing the worse things possible with this one situation. The well written story didn't stop when the situation was handled, for there was worry that something might still come from it, then of course there is the other stories that are going on through the story that once I got beyond those embarrassing moments, I couldn't put my book down. 

The creep from “Summer of Secrets” is back and a bigger creep than in “Summer of Secrets”. I kept waiting to see how this creep was going to be taken down a peg or two. Things were not so simple either for this story line takes several surprising twists and turns through out the book, but at the end of the story I was quite pleased with what happened and voiced it out loud with my pleasure. 

As for Miriam, we learn a lot more about this generous woman who loves serving others in her community. Though things are not easy for her, she holds steady to her faith above all else even when things look so very bleak and almost as if there is no way out. Miriam learns a few things even though she is a woman of 40 and a mom of three, and she learns them with humility. Things are happening pretty fast for her, but it is interesting in how everything starts and works out too. Normally I am not one for a short time frame story such as this but wow this really worked out really well. 

Ben is not your typical Amish man yet he still holds true to the Old Order and all its rules according to the Ordnung. Ben seems to be a man who knows that he is unusual with what he does, but yet he is sure there is a reason why he is the way he is. Ben though is a man who knows his heart which is pretty large for he is willing to help where he is needed, and gentle when the case needs to be. 

There are some really interesting twists and turns to this story as we watch it unfold, which helped keep this reader picking the book back up after putting it down as I said before. Though there are several different point of views through out the book, it was pretty easy to tell whose point of view we reading. There are also some pretty interesting new characters that are introduced in the book who really bring in some much needed humor as well. 

This is a book that I hope all who read this book, enjoy it as much as I did.

Other 'Season's of the Heart' Books and Novellas

Summer of Secrets
Autumn Winds
Winter of Wishes
"Kissing the Bishop"
                                                      found in An Amish Country Christmas
Breath of Spring
"A Willow Ridge Christmas Pageant"
                                                found in An Amish Christmas Quilt