Saturday, May 16, 2015

"The Cowboy Next Door" by Brenda Minton

About the Book

Never again would he be burned by a city girl! No matter how sweet and loveable they seem, Lacey Gould and her niece won't win over Jay Blackhorse. Still, they clearly need his help. Lacey needs a place to stay…he has a house to rent. She's clueless about caring for the infant her sister abandoned. Jay has a talent for stopping the baby's tears. But when a dark secret from Lacey's past blows into town, will Jay's help be enough? And who will help Jay when he realizes he's falling for the city girl next door?

Buy "Joy in His Heart" from Amazon
Buy "Joy in His Heart" from Barnes&Noble

This book was released in May 2009
This is my own personal book that was reviewed

My Review

“The Cowboy Next Door” by Brenda Minton is a lovely rescued book that I really enjoyed. 

The biggest disappointment about the book really is nothing more than the geographical issues with the two major cities/towns mentioned. I have to say that I live close to one of the cities/towns and the other one is not that close for there is actually a four hour difference, not a half an hour difference. I just kept shaking my head and figured that it is just an author’s prerogative to change little things like that, but for me it is annoying because it is so close to home and it is wrong. Well unless there is a second city/town in Missouri that goes by the same name which I don't think so for I looked. 

Now besides that everything was beautiful, and there was one statement in the book that erased all that frustration about the cities/towns. I have only quoted a handful of books in my reviews, if that many, but this statement was truly powerful. The quote can be found on page 126, regular print, “Stop stoning yourself,...” I found this to be truly powerful in describing someone who just refuses to forgive themselves. I think I will keep this quote in mind and use it when it is needed. 

There are secrets from the past for both Lacey and Jay, secrets they are not ready share. One has a secret that they don't want to get out for fear of how others in the community will react to them after they are learned. These secrets are slowly leaked throughout the story which leaves the reader trying to figure out what is going on, or what happened. As the secrets are revealed they are not a complete surprise but yet at the same time they are a bit surprising. The secrets are not something that really changes the character themselves, but gives a deeper understand to each of the characters. 

Changes are not easy to handle no matter who is going through the changes, especially when they are major changes, but one of the characters seems to have things constantly thrown at them. It is how this character dealt with the curve balls that were thrown their way one right after another until most people would break down completely, whereas this character just kept going. I am not saying that this character didn't break down for a few moments but they just kept moving forward like always. 

I would give my thoughts about Jay and Lacey but if I do that then I would be giving a few too many details about the story that might take away from the story. Both of them change throughout the story, so really to explain them I would be giving away too much. They are wonderful characters who have been hurt in one way or another, just trying to move on now. They learn different lessons as well along the way. 

I hope that all who get to read this story, enjoy it as much as I did.

Wednesday, May 13, 2015

"Finally a Hero" by Pamela Tracy

About the Book 


Suddenly a Daddy

Jesse Campbell's determined to forget his past. He's moving to a dude ranch in Arizona to start getting his act together. Parenthood isn't part of the picture—until Jesse meets the son he didn't know he had. Now Jesse has some new goals: learning to be a good father—and a good man. The kind of man Eva Hubrecht, his boss's daughter, can trust. He knows Eva isn't happy about Jesse and Timmy coming to the Lost Dutchman Ranch, but the little boy soon starts to win her heart. Jesse can only hope that with time and patience, this rancher's daughter will find room in her life for him, too.

The Rancher's Daughters: Sisters find hope, love and redemption in the Arizona desert.

This book was released in April 2015
This book was a well loved library book that was reviewed.


My Review

“Finally a Hero” by Pamela Tracy is the first book of her series 'The Rancher's Daughters'. This was an alright book but had some problems at least in my eyes.

I am going to start off with what I enjoyed about the book. The writing itself was pretty good for there wasn't anytime when I felt as if I was being bogged down with useless details or left wondering about what was going on because of too few details. The characters are complex with some interesting back stories while one is not complex but that is okay for it worked well. It was easy to like the different characters and hard to pin point the bad guy right off.  The story itself was great with one subject and lacking in another.

I love stories where there is an ex-con who is trying to turn their life around and honestly this was a great story in that aspect. So much is thrown at the ex-con of the story that honestly, I think almost anyone would have given up and taken off, but not this character. This character stuck it out and of course as to be expected (and I am not saying that in a bad way for I read fictional romance stories for the happy ending) everything worked out perfectly for this character. Things were cleared up, explained and dropped all the way around.

What I, personally, didn't care for was how unrealistic the story was. One character went from distrust and not wanting the other character around due to finances, and tired of dealing with people like this other character, to suddenly in a few weeks to love without understanding really how it got there. There was no chemistry between the two main characters and no real interaction between the two main characters until the last third of the book it seems. Then somehow in that last third of the book a chemistry developed and interaction only increased slightly.

All of the above problems is why I didn't care for the book more. I love romances with the happy ending, and that is why I read them. I can believe some love at first sight stories that take place over a few weeks but that was not the case with this story. I know that sometimes a sense of realism needs to take a back burner enjoy a story after all they are fictional stories so the author is given a lot of lee way but this was more than that to me.

Again I enjoyed the story of the ex-con for that was extremely well developed and everything that happened in that story line felt has if it could happen, just the romance aspect really fell short to me. I hope that those who read the book enjoys it.

Tuesday, May 12, 2015

"Saved by the Fireman" by Allie Pleiter

About the Book

Building their future

Charlotte Taylor isn't good at playing it safe. Reeling from the sudden loss of her job and her beloved grandmother, Charlotte knows buying a dilapidated cottage in Gordon Falls isn't exactly practical. Especially since she just hired the one man who may love the property more than she does to help renovate it. Volunteer firefighter and part-time contractor Jesse Sykes can't stay mad at Charlotte for very long. Though she snatched up the home he'd planned on purchasing, Charlotte's dreams are big enough for both of them…if only she'd let him in. Charlotte promised she'd never fall for a first responder, but is it already too late?

Gordon Falls: Hearts ablaze in a small town

This book was released in November 2014
This was a well loved library book that was reviewed

My Review

“Saved by the Fireman” by Allie Pleiter is the fifth book in her 'Gordon Falls' series. Though this is part of a series this is a perfect stand alone book, for even though some of the prior series characters come into play it is more as secondary community characters.

This was an interesting story that is for sure for I couldn't help but wonder when the attraction was going to blow up into each of their faces for there seems to be that instant attraction with more hurdles than can be found at the track. The hurdles really got in the way and part of the enjoyment, for this reader anyway, was watching the hurdles being jumped, even when the character trips over that hurdle.

One character is being chased hard it seems, even before the story starts, by God for there just little things that comes out that leaves one to wonder how long has this character been chased for it seems as if their heart is cracking easier than most non-believers. To watch how this character sees things related to their Christian friends and have this wonder about that relationship that they seem to have with God, not to mention how they react to all the bad things. To watch how things change around for this character was so interesting and perfect for this character.

The other character is facing a lot of changes and seems to be the cause of a few pretty big problems. At times I couldn't help but laugh at this character while going through what they are going through for I know it wasn't funny but for some reason it just struck my funny bone. It was if this character was so determined to stick to a certain path while things all along the way kept trying to point this character in a different direction. It was one of those things that made me think of the phrase “Man plans, God laughs” for really I could see Him laughing at the plans the character made.

Overall this story was interesting due to the chase of one character and the redirecting of the other. Enough things were happening to keep me interested in continuing read the book through a rainy and dreary day. I truly loved the chase of the character for I just thought it hit something within me, for it was done in such a different way. I guess with all the reading I do it is so nice when I come across something so completely different as this way.

Both characters touched my heart for they were both facing troubles in life and how they handled things were so completely different. One dove into what they were trying to do in order to forget it seems (whether they knew it or not) while the other tried to bury their feelings in humor, but together they work through so many things. As they worked on their own issues together and separately, things become tense yet solutions are there if one is willing to look. Honestly if we think about it, our own lives have the solutions there if we are willing to look, and this was just a great reminder that.

I hope all those who read this book, enjoy this book as much as I did.the

Other Books in the Gordon Falls series by Allie Pleiter

Falling for the Fireman
The Fireman's Homecoming
The Firefighter's Match
Heart to Heal
Saved by the Fireman

Monday, May 11, 2015

"The Single Dad Finds a Wife" by Felicia Mason

About the Book 
The Doctor's New Family

Doctor Spring Darling has everything she needs. A wonderful family and a busy job helping the children of Cedar Springs, North Carolina. She's given up on adding love to that mix. Until the moment David Camden and his adorable son appear in her exam room. Spring assumes David is another down-on-his-luck single parent at the free clinic—but looks can be deceiving. Because David has a job—he's the architect proposing a new development in the middle of Spring's land! When the truth is revealed, can Spring find a way to keep both her home and the blessing of new love?

This book was released in May 2015
This book was a well loved library book that was reviewed.

My Review

“The Single Dad Finds a Wife” by Felicia Mason is the second book in her 'Cedar Springs' series.

There is a series story line that is continued from “The Fireman Finds a Wife” with maybe a few new added twists but I could be wrong and a whole new series story line is coming out. Honestly if one has not yet read “The Fireman Finds a Wife” then no fears for nothing has gotten to the point where a reader can't quickly catch up. There is a character or maybe two who are not what they seem to be I am sure. The first impression of this character or two makes one think one way, and though there is nothing in this story that contradicts that, I have a gut feeling that there is something else going on with this character or two.

Spring is a woman who is determined to help out all those who need help, and suspect that maybe there is a whole lot more to her that we may never see. Spring is a doctor who is helping in all the ways she can from those who can pay to those who can't. She is also a woman who knows when to fight for what she thinks is right and totally stubborn when she thinks she is right. Through it all though, there is something about Spring that touched this reader's heart.

David is a man on a mission, but there is more to this mission than meets the eye for sure. When a wrench is thrown into David's plans, that didn't bother him in the slightest for there were things more important than his plans and he never doubted that. Sure his mission was important but he always had his priorities in order. When he came across something he wanted he tried to reach for it with a great deal of determination, but never with an arrogance some might have. He just went forward with a determination and a prayer.

I completely enjoyed this story, though at times it seemed as if things were not progressing forward but going backwards story-wise, yet I just couldn't seem to skip any pages for fear that I would miss something in the series story-line for every so often there was cut to something that maybe, but might not be important. I say maybe but might not be important is because it was written in such a way that I couldn't be sure if it was something important for the series story-line or maybe it was just something thrown in there to throw people off track.

The characters for the most part are three dimensional and touched this reader's heart at times. Sadly they at the same time seem to lack something for there is real no back story to one and a lacking back story for the other. I like those back stories for they truly help me understand the character and gives them a deeper layer.

I couldn't help but laugh out loud at the end of the book for that was most certainly something I didn't see coming at all.

Over all I completely enjoyed reading this book on a sunny afternoon where I wanted something light but fun to read. This fit the bill perfectly. I hope all who read this book enjoys like I did.

Sunday, May 10, 2015

"The Path to Love" by Jane Myers Perrine

About the Book   

I found God.

I know, I'd said it once before, to get out of trouble, but this time it's true. I was drawn to a church, and this one hymn, about saving a wretch like me, touched me. So did the reverend, speaking about love, redemption, mercy and grace. It was nothing like the church my mother dragged me to as a kid, trying to keep me from the family life of petty crime. Next thing I knew, tears were rolling down my face as I felt...healed. But does my stiff-necked parole officer believe me? No! How can I convince Brandon Fairchild that this conversion—and the feelings I'm having for this good-looking man—aren't just a con game?

This book was released in July 2005
This book is part of my personal collection and going to stay that way.

My Review

“The Path to Love” by Jane Myers Perrine is the first book I have read by this author, and frankly I loved the writing and telling of this story.

I have to say I loved watching the struggle of Francie with her walk in her new life. At times there was such a feeling of understanding what she was feeling, not because of the circumstances, but because of her emotions and the struggles she felt. The walk that she had was not easy because of her past but she continued step by step, trudging on even when things were spiraling out of control. As more is learned about Francie, there is something truly special about her that shows through her and by the end of the book she is a shining example of Christ's love and redemptive powers.

Brandon is a man who has plenty of faults, but at the same time there is integrity within the man. He faces quite a few interesting dilemma's that he learns from though sometimes he is a bit of a slow learner. I found his honesty at times to be refreshing and yet frustrating when he doesn't understand what he is feeling. There is so much to love about this man, and yet want to smack the guy at the same time.

This is truly a wonderful story of redemption and second chances. I am not sure why but stories with an ex-convict who are turning their lives around really touch me for there is such a show of Christ's love and grace in these characters. There is something about them struggling to get things back together while showing the love and grace they received. Normally there is some kind of family or friend support to help in different ways as soon as the ex-convict is released while that was not the case here. Sure friends were developed but Francie did it all on her own showing her strength even before she began her walk.

There is something heart warming is also going on in another character with overcoming their short comings. The short comings are not that ease to see, but it takes this character a lot of thinking to realize what their short comings were. Though it is understandable why this character thinks the way they do at times, and that made the ending just that sweeter.

There is also another story going on at the same time. I have to say that second story really helped create this laughter that helped to break up the tension that was created otherwise. This is a book that is going to stay in my personal collection for it was just that sweet and wonderful. I hope all who read this book enjoys it like I did.