Wednesday, June 3, 2015

“Texas Christmas Grooms” by Pamela Griffin & Vickie McDonough

About the Book

Can two grooms by lassoed in tie for Christmas?
Hearts are forever changed when retired Texas Rangers try their hands at matchmaking in by-gone days.  Will any of their absurd schemes work out as planned?
Erik Olson is shocked when Anna Campbell arrives in town with two small orphans in tow and declares they are brother's children.  Will Erik prove her claims false and see her gone by Christmas?
Travis McCoy is a nomadic photographer with no time to put down roots, find a wife and raise a family.  But when he enters Cut Corners, the temptations to change are strong and he has to keep reminding himself of his goal to leave by Christmas.
How far will the schemers of Cut Corners go to make sure four wild hearts are corralled by love and tamed by faith in time for Christmas?

I am unable to find Pamela Griffin's webpage
Please visit Vickie McDonough's website

This book was released in December 2005
This was is book that is in my personal collection

My Review

“Texas Christmas Grooms” by Pamela Griffin and Vickie McDonough is a book I picked up at my local library book sale and such an interesting book. This is a book that is made up of two novella's that have me wondering if there are other books that go along with the novellas but it doesn't seem like it, however, sounds like there could be some interesting stories there.

The little blurb on the front of the book, “Two Charming Tales of Don't-Tie-Me-Down Men Who Are Each Lassoed by Unexpected Love” sums up the two stories perfectly for these two gentlemen are confirmed bachelors for life or so they thought. Both gentlemen are people who are excelling in their profession and seemingly content in their lives as they stand.

The former Texas Rangers who are now matchmaker's have their hands full that is for sure with Erik and Travis. To be honest though the stories didn't really focus on these former Texas Rangers and what they are doing but on the two possible couples. Stubbornness with both Erik and Travis is a theme that is through both novellas for man oh man are both of these men stubborn. Neither is willing to see beyond their plans it seems.

The young ladies of the stories though are lovely creatures who are determined in their own way, not out of stubbornness but out of necessity. Both have a family to think of above their own needs. One is the need of keeping siblings together, while the other is thinking of her own sibling(s). Both of the young ladies have warm hearts that can be seen under everything. One has a flaw that I can relate to and found her to be humorous and yet heartbreaking for really no one thought to look beyond the actions to the reason why she was the way she was.

These two novellas take place over short periods of time, but that is the way it is with novellas, and over all it didn't take anything away from the story. I read this book with one thought in mind, each novella wasn't that long and so it fit it with the time constraints that I had when I picked up the book. I am the type of reader who enjoys sitting down and reading a book in one sitting so I make the time to do just that when I pick up a book. If I am short on time (too close to my bedtime for example) I will pick up a book that has several novellas in it so that I can still be reading within those time constraints. I made time early one morning to read the second novella in this book for I just loved the telling of the first one and wanted to see what happened.

I hope those who read this book enjoys it as much as I did.

Tuesday, June 2, 2015

"Second Chance Hero" by Winnie Griggs

About the Book

To help his dying sister, Nate Cooper once broke the law—and he's regretted it ever since. Now the ex-con turned saddler hopes for a new beginning in Turnabout, Texas. So when Nate saves a young widow's daughter from imminent harm, he's shocked to be called a hero. 

Single mom Verity Leggett leads a safe life, avoiding danger and excitement at all costs. But her daughter's rescuer Mr. Cooper seems like a perfectly responsible—and handsome—man she can rely on. But when his secrets come to light, will Verity be able to get over his past and see Nate for the caring man he's become? 

Texas Grooms: In search of their brides…

Please visit Winnie Griggs' webpage

This book was released in May 2015
This book was a well loved library book that was reviewed

My Review

“Second Chance Hero” by Winnie Griggs is the sixth book in her 'Texas Grooms' series but also is a wonderful stand alone book. Yes we see one character from the first book, “Handpicked Husband” but more in the way of friend, counselor and confidant. We may here of other characters here and there but in passing as just like it would happen in any story within a town where everyone almost knows everyone.

As the title suggests this is a story of second chances not just for the hero but also for the heroin of the story even if she doesn't know that she needs that second chance.

We know that Nate has done something that ended up with him spending time in prison but what a twist as to why he ended up there and how that plays a huge part in the story. Through the story as his secret is revealed it is really hard to reconcile what he did with the type of person he shows himself to be throughout the entire story. Once everything is out, it is easy enough to reconcile the two then for emotions were such a powerful driving force for him then and in the present time of the story. Nate is a man who is honest but is considerate of those who could be the most harmed with his secret.

Then there is Verity, which I can sure my mind was saying it wrong, whose name is unusual, old fashion and well just perfect for this young widow. There is so much about Verity that really seems overly cautious but as her own back story comes out it is understandable. She is a woman who is always thinking of others, has this way about her that helps put everyone around her at ease, and is willing to help out where she is needed. There is quite a few lessons that she learns throughout the story.

As I said Nate is the holder of a secret, a secret that could harm another person but this secret hurt another because of the past that this person has themselves. It seems so often there is someone out to hurt the secret holder so they spread the secret, but this time that wasn't exactly the case. I actually thought the way the secret came out was perfect for it showed a characters true inner spirit. It was a risk to allow the secret to come out for some much could have happened yet those who heard the secret reacted normally yet showed a grace that really showed more spirit of those characters.

Second chances as I said for Verity and Nate happened by the end of the story, as is expected from a romance story, so no I don't feel as if I am giving anything away. As the story unfolds it was so hard not to fall in love with both of them and feel sorrow for their hardships as well. I hope all who read this wonderful book enjoys it as much as I did.

Monday, June 1, 2015

"Always Ready" by Susan Page Davis

About the Book

Semper paratus. Always ready. Caddie Lyle strives to live up to the motto of the Coast Guard—and her father’s legacy—as she carries out rescue missions. But when she discovers other career opportunities and meets Guardsman Aven Holland, her heart begins to pull her in different directions.

Aven is drawn to Caddie, too, but their duties allow little time together. As danger from Alaska’s coast and a secret from the past threaten their newfound love, will they be ready to trust God for a possible future together?

Please visit Susan Page Davis' webpage

This book was released in August 2009
This was a Kindle book in my personal collection

My Review

“Always Ready” by Susan Page Davis is a lovely Heartsong Presents that filled some time that I had before bedtime and this is a wonderful book that will give me some pleasant dreams I am sure.

This is a story of not giving on something that is truly worth it. Both Caddie and Aven had to decide what was important and worth trying to fight for. Over the time period of several months both of these character must continue with what they must yet make decisions. I really enjoyed how these two had to work at being together. It had a real touch of reality because of the different hurdles.

There is an interesting connection between Caddie and Aven which comes to light as they get to know each other. It wasn't harped on so it wasn't a real big part of the story but I thought that the connection that these two share was special and gave them something strong in common.

Both Caddie and Aven are determined people to do what they think is right even when those things are hurdles that must be jumped and they do. Together they have this great ability to work together even when not together. Sometimes things got hard for one character but they went through everything without complaint.

There is a conflict in the story other than the main thing of finding time, that had little clues all throughout the story. I don't think all the pieces were put together by the characters but they were there if a reader pays attention. I wont say that this book is a suspense book but there is a strong sense of something going on and trying to figure it out. The conflict was interesting and didn't over power the story thankfully.

I hope all who read this book enjoys it like I did.

Sunday, May 31, 2015

"A Family Found" by Laura Abbot

About the Book

What kind of man turned away a pregnant woman? Susannah Laine could tell that Nathan Sloane had demons to wrestle with, but so did she. She'd come to Lakemont to find out what her late husband had been doing there before his sudden death. And she wasn't leaving without an answer....

Susannah's occupancy of the cottage where his wife had lived before her death reawakened painful memories for Nathan. Still, he couldn't deny his attraction to Susannah, and reluctantly agreed to help in her search. But the truth they uncovered threatened their burgeoning romance. Could God now give Susannah the strength to overcome her past and embrace this second chance at happiness?

I couldn't find Ms. Laura Abbot's webpage

This book was released in May 2015
This was a well loved library book that was reviewed

My Review

“A Family Found” by Laura Abbot is another wonderful book around a Montgomery sibling. Though it is connected to her other two Love Inspired Historical there is no worries about if one hasn't read them for this is a stand alone book. If my opinion matters though her other two books are worth reading as well.

This is a story full of challenges both physical and mental, that really push both Sophie and Tate beyond what they have done before. The physical challenge is agreed upon and prepared for, regardless of all the things that could go wrong and those who said it couldn't or shouldn't be done. The mental challenges are not something that can really be prepared for, however they are faced with a great deal of strength and courage. One of the themes through out the story is that one can do anything if they put their mind to it. What a great theme for so often themes seem to be forgiving someone, great over a loss, and/or returning to the fold of the church. Am I saying that none of these can be found through out this story, no not at all for one or more of those topics are part of this story.

Sophie is a woman who is determined to prove what she has set out to do. She knows that feels called to do what she is doing but to what purpose she doesn't rightly know and so there are there things she has to work out as well. Her story comes out through the story, and frankly it made me feel that much more about her. Sophie Montgomery is truly a strong female heroin for she is a lady of fine breeding when the need arise while at the same time has no fear of getting dirt under her nails. On top of that her heart is something that is visible to all who meet her and not only that and it is so hard not to feel something for her as well.

Tate Lockwood is a man who only wants his best for his sons even if that means hiring someone like Sophie. Here is a man with his own past haunting him, but yet he is trying to do what he must. As Tate's own full story comes out through out the telling of this story, one almost has to wonder how he turned out to be such a man, yet this reader couldn't help but rejoice for him being who he is. There is much for Tate to learn through the story, some that he fights against and some he is willing to try.

This story contends things that normally would be going against the socially acceptable norms for the 1879. These things are something that in our time of 2015 we wouldn't bat an eyelash at but at that time eyelashes are not only batted but frankly people do what they can to speak against things. I have to say that I really enjoyed how these worked out all in all. Some of these things nothing could be done about what happened, while others was told in such a way that showed a great deal of courage. I looked forward to an event in the story for it seemed like so much was riding on this one thing, and I didn't understand until it happened just how important that event was to the whole story.

I hope we will get to see more of the people in Estes Park for there are so many curious and interesting people within this small community.

I hope that all who read this book will enjoy it as much I did.