Sunday, October 11, 2015

"Christmas Cradle" by Charlotte Hubbard

About The Book

The Christmas Cradle

For the peaceful town of Willow Ridge, November presents an early holiday surprise. Stranded in the snow, 18-year-old Lena Esh and her boyfriend Josiah Witmer need more than a place to stay for the night. Lena defied her strict family and their judgmental beliefs to run away with Josiah and have his baby. But she's starting to wonder if he can prove as responsible as he is passionate. And she isn't sure how—or if—they can ever find a place to truly call home.

Expecting their own miracle baby, Miriam and Ben Hooley rally the town to help the young couple, and Lena draws strength from their unexpected support. Though trouble may come calling, in this season of joyous rebirth, a little child will lead them. And two couples will see their dreams of forever family come true . . .


Please visit Charlotte Hubbards website

Buy "Christmas Cradle" from Amazon
Buy "Christmas Cradle" from Barnes&Noble

Read more reviews on Goodreads here

This book was released in September 2015
This book is part of my personal library that was used to review

My Review

“Christmas Cradle” by Charlotte Hubbard is the final book in her 'Seasons of the Heart' series. Though this is the final book it can be read by itself if someone hasn't read the prior books, but I have to say that there is something special being missed out by not reading the prior books. There is one constant thread throughout the series and that is who the bad guy is.

Not long ago I read a review on a book (can't remember what book sorry about that) and it was the message of forgiving a character who the reader just hates. This series is a great example of hating a vile character who got nuttier and nuttier with each book to the point where I couldn't stand this character and wished for just deserts for this character. I wasn't sure what was going to happen but I kept thinking that no matter what happened I have to forgive this character even though they are just a fictional character with no real person to forgive. In all honesty it was a great exercise in forgiving in those who seem unforgivable. That is all I am going to say about that for anything more and I would be spilling the beans on what happens with the character.

This is a book with some pretty important lessons such as forgiveness, overcoming mistrust and hatred, learning to step up to do what needs to be done, to grow in maturity, and how to handle the uncertain future with grace. Things don't always work out the way one expects or hopes for but with the support of family and friends, but above all else being in God's will nothing is impossible for a person to have that peaceful, happy ending. That is one thing that really seemed to be the most important message in the story that if we are in God's will, even if we want to be in control, things will work out in ways that we can't even begin to understand.

Lena and Josiah are a young couple that are facing an unknown future with so many unknown factors in their future as well. This is really a story that gives hope to all those young couples who are facing the same problems as this young couple for together things can be overcome. With love and support of family and friends nothing is impossible, but it always help to remember that hard work is a major component in making things turn out for the best. That is something that was never in question though for neither Lena or Josiah were afraid of working hard and sometimes it seemed as if they were working a little too hard at somethings and not hard enough for other things.

To give my opinions on the young Lena and Josiah would sadly give away something really special about them for they go through so many changes throughout the story. As I said they are not afraid of hard work in the slightest but at times work a little too hard on somethings. There are plenty of changes that this couple face and mistakes that they each made that they have to own up to along the way. There are some pretty big changes that happen which makes it so hard to describe this young couple without giving away part of the plot so I am going to leave them as it stands with what I said.

I loved seeing Ben and Miriam again playing such a large part of the story for their strength is something that was really needed in this story without a doubt. Ben and Miriam have played such a large part in the entire series, even though each book has been stand alone books, Ben and Miriam have been important with the lessons that really fit the story itself. This is no different but here they play a larger part and the lessons they teach are just as important.

This entire series is going on my keep shelf so that I can pull it out over the years to read time and time again so that I can see what new message will be there for me to discover. I hope all who have been reading this series will enjoy this book as much as I did, and for those who haven't read the other books, I hope with this book will entice those who haven't to pick up the other books to do so. I look forward to the new series that will be starting next year.


Other 'Season's of the Heart' Books and Novellas
                                                      found in An Amish Country Christmas
                                                   found in An Amish Christmas Quilt
 

Monday, October 5, 2015

"A Western Christmas" by Renee Ryan and Louise M. Gouge

About The Book

A New Family Makes the Perfect Christmas Gift  

Yuletide Lawman by Renee Ryan

A Christmas to remember—that's what Ellie Wainwright wants to provide for Sheriff Caleb Voss's little girls. But she can't agree to a marriage of convenience. Ellie wants nothing less than real love. Caleb long ago gave up on love, yet sweet Ellie's kindness to his children could make a believer of him again.

Yuletide Reunion by Louise M. Gouge

Emma Sharp's family needs to rebuild their barn before Christmas. All help is welcome—even if it comes from the handsome neighboring rancher who jilted her two years ago. Can Jared Mattson prove that he wants to build not just a barn with Emma—but a bright future together?


Please visit Renee Ryan's website
Please visit Louise M. Gouge's website

Buy "A Western Christmas" from Amazon
Buy "A Western Christmas" from Barnes&Noble

Read more reviews on Goodreads here

This book was released in October 2015
This book was given to me in exchange for an honest review
 
 
My Review
 
“A Western Christmas” is a book that has two novella's written by Renee Ryan and Louise M. Gouge. I received this book from Ms. Ryan in exchange for an honest review, so honesty it is going to be just like every other review.

Here are two novellas that take place in Wyoming and New Mexico in the month of December with the same theme it seems in both of them. The theme is grace, forgiveness and understanding. Though the characters are four very different characters, they are very similar at the same time. Some are stubborn to the point to where they might just cut off their noses in spite of their face, others daydream a bit more freely, and all of them have suffered some kind of heartache. As I said they are similar yet there are plenty of differences to make each story unique and special to read.

I would try to tell a little about each story but honestly the little blurbs on the back of the book (can be found above) covers all the important aspects of the story so I wont bother trying to tell more about them, for if I do then I run the risk of spoiling the stories for other readers, and I hate when I learn too much about a book I am thinking of getting because somebody basically told the story in their review. So since I hate that I won't do that to anyone else.

These two novellas are heartwarming and tender Christmas stories that really highlight the Christmas message of love, forgiveness and so much more. Christmas is a very important in each of the stories with each having a different focus it seems but both on the message in one way or another, on love. Love for each other and how love is.

I honestly enjoyed this book and it really put me in the Christmas feeling with the messages that they each portrayed. The message of hope and forgiveness, joy and grace just seemed to shout Christmas. So grab a warm blanket, cup of your favorite hot drink and enjoy this book.

Monday, September 28, 2015

“Rekindling the Widower's Heart” by Glynna Kaye

About The Book

A Future to Build On 

All widower Luke Hunter wants is to raise his three kids—and be left alone. When Delaney Marks arrives in town to oversee the youth group's house renovation project, Luke decides he must come out of hiding. He's worried she's too young to get the job done. He'll have to keep a close watch on her—and on his heart. Because being with the vibrant girl makes it easy to forget their age difference and to start hoping for a future he doesn't deserve. As tensions rise over project pressures, Delaney tries to make Luke see that some things are just out of his control—and that he is worthy of happiness…with her.

Please visit Glynna Kaye's website
*Please note that the site does appear out of date at the time of this posting*

Purchase "Rekindling the Widower's Heart" from Amazon
Purchase "Rekindling the Widower's Heart" from Barnes&Noble

Read more reviews on Goodreads

This book was released in October 2015
This book used to be reviewed was a library book that I was the first to read.


My Review

“Rekindling the Widower's Heart” by Glynna Kaye is the first book in her 'Hearts of Hunter Ridge' series and it is a wonderful start of a series as well. I think there are a few characters whose stories are still to come in this series and I look forward to seeing them, and this story I almost want to say let the reader in on a little bit of each of the Hunter family past.

I have to say that this really isn't the May-December relationship that the back hints at for I would say it is more of a July-September relationship. Though what is the actual age difference isn't something that I would have even blinked at eye at one does seem to have a problem with it, but I got a kick out how they each handled things. A lot of times when I have seen a age difference that seems to matter to one character more than the other, one character might be a little more immature while the other one is way more mature than most people their age, but this time it is not the case.

Delaney is a woman who has some dreams and she is taking time to reach those dreams, but she is not unrealistic as to think she is owed anything while she tries to reach her dreams. She has this positive outlook for nearly everything she does or is a part of. She is a woman who remembers what it is like to be young by continuing to live life to the fullest and having unplanned fun when the opportunity arises. Delaney is also a woman who shows a lot of determination and though she really doesn't explain at first why she is determined to do what she says she will do but once everything is out there it makes a lot of sense. She is a woman who tends to feel a lot while not allowing those feelings to rule her in a remarkable balanced way.

Luke is a man who is a bit too set in his ways it seems like. At times I became frustrated with him because of how set in his ways he was but yet when he interacted with his family there is something that really shows what is underneath all of his stern behaviors. As his whole story comes out, I saw him a completely different light. This is a man who only wants what is for the best for his family more than anything else even if that means doing something unpopular. He has a bit of a dark outlook on everything it seems but then again with what has gone on in his past, it is understandable why he is just this way.

Neither Luke or Delaney is too mature or immature for their age, which actually blended perfectly with who each one of them were. They seemed to balance each other out in the long run when they gave themselves a chance to work together. It seems as if there is a roller coaster of ups and downs with this relationship, if you even want to call it that, for it seems as if one or the other, for different reasons, pull away from the other. When they worked together it was something really special though that is for sure.

It seemed to me that the biggest theme in this story is compassion. Compassion offered to those that some don't believe deserving yet determination to offer the compassion none the less. This was a story that not only showed compassion but how offering compassion can lead to understanding and possibly forgiveness. Several times there was a soft and tender reminder about why no one should judge another without getting all the facts first for things are not what they always appear to be. Guilt is also another issue that is dealt with for one and/or more of the characters are dealing with their own guilt which is either fully or at least partially dealt with by the end of the story.

About the only thing I didn't really care about the story is the fact that it took place over a short period of time. I didn't get the feeling that there was really a deepening of the friendship between Luke and Delaney while they worked together but I didn't feel the attraction to each other from the start. I never felt that the feelings that they admitted were forced or anything but I have to wonder how they could be so sure of their feelings after the short period of time when they didn't know what all made them tick, though in one night secrets that has never been revealed to anyone else comes out. I might have missed something though I will admit in the relationship between Luke and Delaney.

As I said that was the only thing that I had issue with for this story was well written with a theme that seemed to be a perfect reminder to me at the moment. The conflict between Luke and Delaney was a nice blend to add to everything that was happening. Though I missed the deepening of friendship I found this story to be wonderful in all other aspects for the characters had their strengths and flaws and even their humorous moments. The writing of the story is done in such a way that it is hard to not allow your emotions through and I found it hard to put the book down period. This is a book I would highly recommend to all who are looking for a tender romance with a special message.






Thursday, September 24, 2015

Wagon Train Proposal by Renee Ryan

About the Book


For the Sake of His Children
  
A marriage of convenience? Rachel Hewitt couldn't possibly accept. Not even for the sake of three adorable little girls who desperately want a new mother. Sheriff Tristan McCullough offers Rachel a home and family, but not the one thing she truly seeks—someone to love her for herself.

Tristan McCullough hoped to find a wife on the wagon train, not a nanny. The hardworking widower wants a marriage without emotional risks. But independent Rachel intrigues him. One minute she's winning over his shy little girls, and the next she's tackling danger head-on. She might just be Tristan's unexpected second chance at happiness…if he'll risk his wary heart again.

Journey West: Romance and adventure await three siblings on the Oregon Trail

 




This book released in June 2015
This was a well loved library book that was reviewed

 
My Review

“Wagon Train Proposal” by Renee Ryan is the third and final book in the continuous series 'Journey West', and a wonderful finish to the whole series. Now even though this is the final book in the series that doesn't mean that this can not stand alone for it most certainly can.  If one has not have the pleasure of reading “Wagon Train Reunion” or “Wagon Train Sweetheart” then that is ok for it is not absolute vital to read them, but they do help with some background on both Rachel and Tristan.

The series long story-line reveals the culprit or culprits pretty early one but just because the culprit or culprits are revealed early doesn't mean that the guilty party or parties are not a problem later on in the story.  Actually because of the culprit or culprits I was on edge wondering when this person or persons would strike.  I couldn't help but laugh for I expected things to go one way and I kept waiting for it all to go down, and when it went down, I am not sure if I was disappointed because it didn't happen the way I thought or laugh because of the way it did.  Well I know I laughed at one point during this whole event, so maybe it is just a little bit of both.

There is a twist in the story that was so unexpected that I actually had to go back and reread the page again to make sure I read it right the first time.  This is a secret that deeply affects one of the characters.  It sure added something I never saw coming and well I can almost see how it made the character stronger.  Stronger because they dealt with it, forgave and is now learning to deal with the secret that has been brought in the open with courage.  I wonder how many other readers are going to reread the paragraphs or page when this all comes out.

Rachel is the youngest Hewitt sibling and she has three very protective siblings along with three protective in-laws, to the point it is almost funny.  Rachel is a woman who is not shy about stating her opinions in the slightest, is not afraid of hard work and feeling a bit uncertain about where she belongs.  She had plans when she finally reached Oregon City but suddenly those plans are out the window so now she much come up with something else, which she does.  There is this natural grace about Rachel as well determination and strength.

Tristan is a man who takes his job seriously and has a plan.  He is also a man of great honor as we first saw in “Wagon Train Sweetheart” and again in this story.  He has this fierce love for his three precious children without a single doubt and will do whatever he must to protect them.  He has reasons for some of the things he feels, even though most think they might be unreasonable, at the time I could almost understand his thoughts.  Though things don't work out as he plans them he is flexible enough to do whatever it takes.

I had wondered time and time again why a certain character was always there and wondered if maybe this character was going to play a larger part than they actually did.  I also wanted to see another character find their own happy ending.  Actually to be honest there is another character as well who I wouldn't mind finding their own happy ending after all this person has been through and what they are still facing.  I don't think we will see those things come out in future books, but maybe my own imagination will just have to take over.

I hope all who have the privilege of reading this entire series will enjoy it as much as I did.


Wednesday, September 23, 2015

Wagon Train Sweetheart by Lacy Williams

About the Book

A Promised Bride 
Emma Hewitt never thought she'd travel thousands of miles to wed. Yet Oregon is where she'll meet the groom her brothers have chosen. After years of nursing her ailing father, Emma's social skills are lacking. An arranged marriage is only sensible. And her growing feelings for Nathan Reed, a worker on her wagon train, are surely better forgotten.
 
\Nathan knows he's wrong for Emma. He's too rough, too burdened with guilt over his past. But when Emma nurses him through a fever, she sees something in him no one ever has. Now he wants to be a man worthy of her love. Emma's loyalty to family has always come first. Will she find the courage now to follow her heart?
 
Journey West: Romance and adventure await three siblings on the Oregon Trail

 




This book released in May 2015
This was a well loved library book that was reviewed

 
My Review

“Wagon Train Sweetheart” by Lacy Williams is the second book in the 'Journey West' continuous series.  This is another Hewitt sibling that has their own happy ending, and Emma learns quite a few things along the way in this story.  I loved the story but hated the cover of the book for frankly it didn't show the characters correctly.  Nathan's hair is longer in the book and Emma's hair is blonde.  Not Ms. Williams fault but seriously the people who do the covers should try not to make it so obvious that they don't have a clue about the story.

There is a series story-line that is continued and a couple of suspects are knocked out of the running but I have to wonder if maybe there isn't a new one added.  Though there is this series story-line, I would feel comfortable in saying that this could be a stand alone book.  There is a little bit of information that was in “Wagon Train Reunion” that was not in this book but it wasn't enough to make anyone feel as if they lost something important between the books.  I just wonder about the clues that were not mentioned in this book but were mentioned in the last book.  Guess everything will come together for “Wagon Train Proposal”.

This is Emma's story and we learn so much more about her.  What her fears are, what she enjoys doing and what frustrates her.  There are things that we got to see about Emma in “Wagon Train Reunion” sure but here we learn so much more about her.  She is a shy young woman who gives of herself to the point of sacrifice it seems, but wishes for things to be different at times.  Throughout the whole journey Emma learns things about herself as well.

Nathan is a man who has a haunting past, and I sure didn't see it coming either.  I was able to understand a bit better why he is the way he is and it all stems from his past.  Though he does what he can to hide it, this is a gentle giant without a doubt and who has his own fears.  But like Emma learning about things about herself, Nathan learns somethings about himself throughout the story.

With this story we have come over half way if not more in the wagon train journey, and nearing completion.  The adventures, I guess you could say, were interesting and hair raising at times.  I have to say that with the description of some of the things that happen, that my admiration of those who made this trip are more courageous than I thought.

This is a story that is really worth reading.  I hope all who pick up this book enjoys it as much as I did.


Tuesday, September 22, 2015

Wagon Train Reunion by Linda Ford

About the Book

Second-Chance Courtship 

Abigail Black had no choice but to break Ben Hewitt's heart years ago. Her parents had picked another, wealthier groom. Now widowed and destitute, she's desperate to leave her old life behind. The wagon-train journey to Oregon is full of dangers, but she'll face anything—even Ben—for a fresh start. 

Ben knows better than to trust Abby again. Between her family's snobbery and his family's protectiveness, avoiding her should be easy. Yet he's still moved by Abby's sweetness and beauty…along with a sadness and strength he never noticed in her before. Forgiving past wrongs would be a struggle—but the hardest struggle would be letting Abby go once more.

Journey West: Romance and adventure await three siblings on the Oregon Trail


 




This book released in April 2015
This was a well loved library book that was reviewed

 
My Review

“Wagon Train Reunion“ by Linda Ford is the first book in the continuous series 'Journey West'.  I have put off reading this book for as long as possible, so that I would have less time to wait between this first book and the last book.

This book is really different than most books I have read in the past, for there more flashbacks than usual.  Actually it seemed there for the first half to two-thirds of the book was equal parts flashback as in the present time of the story telling.  Sometimes flashbacks are not written well with other stories, but this time around, the flashbacks were written so well that they really enhanced the story and helped explain so much of what was going through both Abigail and Ben both then and now.

This is a story of second chances.  Second chances for everyone on the wagon train and maybe, just maybe second chances for Abigail and Ben.  Both are stuck with something in the past.  One is stuck in what happened between them so many years ago and the other even further back.  To be able to free themselves from the past they must be willing to face it and search what they are wanting now.

Abigail is a woman who has done what she felt that she must, regardless what the cost is to herself.  She is a woman who can handle a lot of stress for she deals with her mother without complaint (frankly she should get sainthood for that alone), always willing to help those around her, tries to do her share of the work, and battles her own emotions.  Abigail is also a woman who knows what she wants for her future.

Ben is a man who takes his responsibilities very seriously, and he is so determined to protect himself from the past.  As the train moves forward things happen to where he has no choice but to face the past, while helping those who need.  It how he handles everything that really shows his true character.

There is a series story line that is going to drive me up a wall until the villain is exposed.  Honestly there are so many who could be the villain, though I don't buy the person accused at the end of this book.  There are several reasons why I don't buy that this is the guilty party, but I can only explain one reason and that his because he is the hero of the second book.  There are some pretty big reasons other than that but if I went into them then I might be giving something away.

This is a wonderful start to the series and I look forward to reading the other books.



Monday, September 21, 2015

A Father's Second Chance by Mindy Obenhaus

About The Book

Repairing Her Heart 

Businesswoman Celeste Thompson has one goal: to make her restaurant and hotel a success. She doesn't need any distractions, even from handsome contractor Gage Purcell and his two adorable little girls. Besides, single dad Gage is just biding his time before a big job at the mines comes through. But as Celeste's project springs to life, their arguments transform into attraction. Gage isn't looking for romance, especially not with another career-driven woman like his ex-wife. But openhearted Celeste is more than just another work-consumed client. She might just be his happily-ever-after.

My Review

“A Father's Second Chance” by Mindy Obenhaus is a book that is connected to her other two books set in Ouray, Colorado. Though there are plenty of connections to the other books this is a perfect on its own book for everything needed to be told throughout the story.

Here is a story of man planning but God having better plans. I can understand why each Celeste and Gage are so set in their plans for their perspective back stories are told to where it is hard not to feel something for each of them with their pasts. Something really surprising comes out with one of them, but it is so clear to see that this event changed the character and if put in the same position they wouldn't think of repeating the same event.

Celeste is a woman who is discovering something truly important to her and when pushed to the limit she has to make a choice as to what she is willing to stand up for. Her selflessness was shown throughout the entire story for she was constantly giving of herself to help plans for things to happen, when she saw there was a need in time of an emergency she was there with all she could do to help and she never seemed to complain or get angry without a just cause, and when she did there was really a just cause for her complaints or anger.

Gage is a man with one goal in mind and that is to be there always for his precious children. He does have a dream job but until things are right he is doing what he can to be there for his girls. Gage is a an honorable man who will do what he needs to do in order to take care of his family including working with someone who reminds him too much of his own past, with a grin and hopefully pleasant attitude, but he will not go against what he feels is right no matter what. There is something special about a man who is so determined to stay on one path but to watch them trip up completely like this one did.

There are plenty of ups and downs within the story that had this reader crying at times because of what was happening. I found it interesting how things were not exactly easy at times with certain situations but no one gave up really no matter how hard it was to get to the other side. The determination of them to move forward regardless of what they had to go through or who they had to deal with showed how each of them had a strength in them that helped out when things got uncomfortable. That strength was also shown when neither Celeste or Gage was willing to back down or step back when things got extremely uncomfortable and hard. It is because of their strength that really made each of them the people they were.

I hope all who pick up this book will enjoy it as much as I did, and laugh like I did at the plans that man made as God's plans were unfolding along. I understood the feelings of the man, and was relieved to see that those who made the plans were not so stubborn that sooner or later they came around to the better plan for them. It is worth reading in my opinion so pick up a book and loose yourself in a fall landscape of Colorado.

Sunday, September 20, 2015

The Amish Widow's Secret by Cheryl Williford

About the Book


Second Chance at Love

Widow Sarah Nolt never expected another marriage proposal. She hardly knows the handsome Amish man who's come to help with her barn raising. Besides, they're both still mourning the loss of their spouses. But Mose Fischer needs a caretaker for his daughters, and Sarah needs to escape her father's oppressive rule. They agree to a marriage of convenience, but when Sarah moves to Mose's Amish community in Florida, she can't help falling for the strong, kind widower and his little girls. To create a family, they'll have to come to terms with their pasts…and the secret Sarah is unknowingly carrying.


 

Buy "The Amish Widow's Secret" from Barnes&Noble 

This book released in June 2015
This was a well loved library book that was reviewed
 
My Review

“The Amish Widow's Secret” by Cheryl Williford appears to be her first published book and I have to say that it was a book that had me hooked by the page 30. I was hooked because my emotions were fully involved in the story by that time.

This is a book that I highly enjoyed and would recommend to anyone looking for a story that is quick and easy to read. There is a complex yet highly simple plot (oxymoron I know but it is true) and the characters are wonderful created. Most times it is pretty easy to see when an author is getting their first story out there for it seems as if something important is missing in their writing even if story is really good, but Ms. Williford's first book didn't have anything missing that I could see other than a warning about the emotional turmoil within the pages.

I haven't read too many marriage for convenience within the Amish genre but this was written very well. Often I don't pay too much attention to the little summary on the back of the book, but there was something that I thought odd about what was said on the back and that was how someone could carry a secret without knowing it, and then by page 100 I fully understood what that secret was. I have to say how it all happened was completely unexpected and lovely twist to the whole story.

Sarah is a young woman who frankly has a lot on her plate, a lot more than what is hinted at with the summary on the back of the book, yet she shows remarkable poise and grace throughout the entire story. That is what made her so spirited for when things seemed to crashing around her completely, she held true to her thoughts and beliefs. Regardless what this woman had been through she held fast to those thoughts and beliefs which showed remarkable strength and courage. Her heart though could have been bitter and cold was warm and open to all around her.

Mose is a man who is willing do to what he must for the sake of his children but only if it feels right to him and if it is what he is called to do. His heart is understanding and patient with all those around him, or at least those he cares for. He has no problem standing on the side that is right but doesn't allow his temper to get the better of him for the most part, but like any man he has a breaking point too which he reaches within the story. It is understandable when he reached his breaking point and honestly it doesn't last long the emotions that fill him at that point in time.

I so enjoyed getting to know Mose and his precious daughters, who have their own understandable issues, and Sarah. As I got to know them, and I really did feel like I was a friend welcomed into the telling of their story instead of characters on a page without their own lives, I couldn't help but love each and every one of the characters. Yes I know I sound crazy about talking about fictional characters has if they are flesh and blood but to me that is what it seemed like as I was reading this book. They had their faults and their strengths without one over powering the others, and they had emotions.

As I said before the plot of the story was complex yet remarkable simple at the same it seems like. Here are two people who have loved deeply now marrying each other for different reasons. One is doing it to give his children the love of a mother, while the other is doing it to escape. The complexity of the story comes in the form of how these two adults who barely know each other, but had loved someone close to each of them in a different way, become friends and more. The simple part of the plot is the desire to make the best of all what their future holds because once married there was no going back.

Truly I recommend this book to all who is looking for that right blend of easy reading and dive head long into a whole new place somewhere different from home.

 

Saturday, September 19, 2015

Loving the Country Boy by Mia Ross

About the Book

A City Girl's Second Chance 

City girl Tess Barrett hopes her move to Barrett's Mill, Virginia, will give her a fresh start. As she gets to know the family she's never met and begins work at their sawmill, everything starts falling into place. Until she meets Heath Weatherby. After narrowly escaping an oil rig explosion, Heath won't waste his second chance at life. He's committed to starting a family—and he wants Tess for his wife. Tess refuses to give in to her feelings for Heath, convinced they're just too different. But when the rugged mechanic is hired to fix her family's mill, her heart begins to recognize the charming country boy as her one true love.

Barrett's Mill: In the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains, a family legacy leads to love





This book released in August 2015
This was a well loved library book that was reviewed

 

My Review

“Loving the Country Boy” by Mia Ross is the latest book in her 'Barrett's Mill' series and frankly not entirely sure if it is the end of the series or not, but above all else it is a great stand alone book though it connects nicely with the other books in the series. I found this book to be so tender and perfect for a lazy day of reading.

There is just enough of a struggle in the story to keep a person interested in seeing how it is going to be resolved. I have to say that to this reader the struggle wasn't always in the forefront of the entire story, but yet it was there in small ways to remind the reader and the character that the struggle is still there but daily life is important. Also though it is really only one character struggling there is someone else who helps push the character outside of where they were that makes the struggling character stop and think about what they are doing.

Tess is a woman who is learning several things about her family while she is doing what she can to help out. Helping out when and where she can is something that she really enjoys doing which shows her some new things about herself. She has this spunk about her as well, something she learned from out west and funny enough things that she learned out west didn't always help her in the small town of Barrett's Mill. The spunk though helped her wade through some interesting lessons within her own family.

Heath is a man with a plan but learns to go with the flow. At times I thought, “Here is a hero that is a little perfect.” and then something happen that knocked him off that hero pedestal in one fell swoop in the perfect way, and in a way that hints about his past for some reason couldn't do it. There is something wholesome and down to earth about Heath but there is a little something else that makes him such a hero and I won't spoil that discovery for others so I will leave it there.

The story started out with Tess and Heath meeting in a different way, and frankly there wasn't much attraction between them for I got the impression that both of them were on completely different roads of life, but a friendship grew and then so much more. I never felt rushed in the slightest with the telling of the story for it seemed to move at such a smooth pace that everything seemed to happened as it would in real everyday life. Do I feel I am giving anything away, not really considering this is a romance book which means of course there is going to be a happy ending at the end of it all, the journey is getting there, and this is a lovely story of getting to the end.

I loved the struggles and especially the little bit of a surprise near the end of the book. I hope all who pick up this book will enjoy it as much as I did.

 
Other 'Barrett's Mill' Books


Friday, September 18, 2015

Finding His Way Home by Mia Ross

To be honest I thought I had posted my review of this book when I read it over the summer time but apparently with all the summer activities it slipped my mind so I am posting it now.

About the Book

Repairing His Heart 

Prodigal son Scott Barrett is back home in Barrett's Mill—with plans to atone for his past mistakes and restore his future. But the quiet Virginia village feels like a different place since his return. The old cottage and chapel are crying out for repair—much like Scott himself. Luckily, sensitive artist Jenna Reed offers to help. Jenna sees Scott without judgment—though she reveals little about her own troubled past. As they work together to renovate the chapel, Scott begins to earn her trust, and soon he's envisioning life with the beautiful Jenna. Can the love of a good woman finally make him whole? 

Barrett's Mill: In the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains, a family legacy leads to love


 


This was a well loved library book that was reviewed


My Review 

“Finding His Way Home” by Mia Ross is the third book in her 'Barrett's Mill' and I wonder if there will be another book in the series to come out later on for there seems to be a hint of it here especially towards the end. There are two characters who are introduced into the book that seem a little uncertain and for some reason I just get this feeling that they almost belong together. I would be interested to see if that is the case that is for sure.

Jenna is a woman we have seen in the prior books and get a sense that she is her own her person with an interesting life. I have to say that now we get to see how truly interesting Jenna is for the life she has lead has been interesting. This is a character who has her doubts but at the same time her outlook at life is bright, while she also has learned a few things that really help her along her path. Jenna is a woman who is willing to make her own judgments in regards to other people which makes her a very special person for she waits to make those judgments while keeping herself open completely to the other people around her.

Scott is a man who we have heard little about, but there was a reason why his story just wouldn't have been the same if it came from anyone else. I have to say that Scott, regardless of how he projects himself, is a pretty courageous character for he was pretty honest when asked about his problems in the past. He wasn't one to lie about it, while not exactly being completely upfront with people just for the sake of it. He understood some other people's reactions to him, but those reactions bothered him none-the-less. He learns several lessons throughout the story which helps him bring about to look at life differently.

This is a story of second chances, forgiveness and rethinking life plans. Really both Jenna and Scott get those second chances. Jenna may not realize that she is getting her second chance but I could see it. She was so certain about how her life was going to be all because of her past, but her second chance was still there for the taking if she was willing, which of course has her rethinking the plans she made for her life. Scott, now his second chances are really quite easy to see if he was only willing to open up to those around him and reach for them. Because of his past he was so certain how his life was going to go forward in a certain way but life often laughs at our plans.

The forgiveness is a subtle thing on how it was presented. One of the characters feels that they are in need of forgiveness from those around them, yet really it seems as if the forgiveness is needed only to be extended to themselves.
 
Other 'Barrett's Mill' Books 

Blue Ridge Reunion

Wednesday, September 16, 2015

“The Convenient Cowboy” by Lacy Williams

About the Book
 
 
Do You Take This Cowboy? 

A blizzard traps rancher Davy White in his family's secluded cabin with Rose Evans…and she's nine months pregnant! Help is miles away, and Davy must work to keep them both alive. As the storm rages outside, he comes to care for the vulnerable widow. Enough that he's willing to offer her his name—against his family's objections.

Rose will do anything for her baby, but she's recently widowed. She doesn't know if she can trust the feelings she has toward Davy. And she refuses to come between him and his family. But the more time they spend together, the less she can resist the comforting, caring cowboy.

Wyoming Legacy: United by family, destined for love





 

This book was released in June 2015
This is a well loved library book that was used for the review



My Review
 
“The Convenient Cowboy” by Lacy Williams is the latest book in her 'Wyoming Legacy' series but never fear this is a stand alone book.  This is Davy's story and man I love the White's with all that happens to them.

Here is a story of overcoming, though it might not be noticeable right off the bat, but that is what I think of the story anyway.  Overcoming the hurt of being left behind.  Overcoming the hurt from the past.  Overcoming the hurt of being alone.  And finally overcoming the hurt of the uncertainties of the present.  Each thing that is overcome is small by itself, but when they are all put together the way they are, it is just something that is really beautiful.

Davy is a man who is determined to have everything ready for his brothers return, regardless what his family thinks about his plans, though he wants their approval.  Then when he is faced with all those plans being changed on him, he can face those changes one of two ways, and it is how he acts that shows so much more about his character.  He feels deeply but he has this ability to cover those up, not exactly by hiding them but just not by showing them.  I know that sounds like an oxymoron but really understand Davy White one is just going to have to read this book.

Rose is a woman who has not had the easiest of lives up to this point.  When she is found she has been struggling to do what she had to do with what was around her.  Actually the more this reader got to know Rose the more I saw a deep strength that I don't even think she realized that she had.  She is determined to do everything she can to help out and pull her share, but not so stubborn that she can't see what is best for her and her child.

This is also a story of fighting to a better tomorrow.  It seems as if both Davy and Rose are fighting in completely different ways.  One is fighting for the tomorrow that has been planned while the other is fighting just for tomorrow.  With the way they are fighting at times it seems almost as if they are fighting together then there are times when they are fighting separately.  Now I don't mean that they are fighting with words against each other, but  they are taking all they can to fight inner and outer forces that are working against them.

This a wonderful story that I hope all who read it enjoy it greatly like I did.  


 
Other "Wyoming Legacy" Books
 
Roping the Wrangler
 
 


Monday, September 14, 2015

“Bachelor to the Rescue” by Lorraine Beatty

About the Book


Building a Romance

Young widow Lainie Hollings will do anything to protect her daughters—even if it means accepting help from Shaw McKinney. Though she blames Shaw for her husband's death, he's the only one she can turn to when a robbery forces her to take shelter in his home. Soon she's surprised by the handsome contractor. He's kind, charming and determined to protect her and her girls. Being with Lainie makes Shaw want to give up his bachelor life and become a family man. But he'll need to win over the pretty librarian and prove to her he's the right man for her future.



  

Please visit Lorraine Beatty's website

Buy "Bachelor to the Rescue" from  Amazon
Buy "Bachelor to the Rescue" from Barnes&Noble 

This book was released in May 2015
This is a well loved library book that was reviewed
 

My Review 

“Bachelor to the Rescue” by Lorraine Beatty is the third book in her 'Home to Dover' series, but it is a perfect stand alone book. I remember reading the other 'Home to Dover' books but couldn't remember what the details were, but I never felt loss while reading this book, which is why I say it is a perfect stand alone book.

There is quite a few things that can be taken from this book. Anger is not something that can be lived with easily. Forgiveness heals so much. Clearing the air leads to a great deal of healing. How it easy it is to see something in other people but refuse to see something in themselves. Mostly though when all that has been done it is just laying everything in God's hands and see how things work out for worrying doesn't do a whole lot of good.

Lainie is a woman who is doing what she must do in order to take care of her little girls. When she is faced with something that really is pushing her out of her comfort level she faces it with a courage of a mother's heart. Her heart overall is warm and tender that is visible to all those who take a moment to get to know her. Lainie is facing an uphill battle but how she tries to climb that hill again shows her compassion and logic. She may blame someone for something in the past but she isn't too bitter that the air can't be cleared.

Shaw is a man who is a typical Alpha Male. He feels as if he has to take responsibility for those around him, be the guy who solves all the problems but he has a flaw. Ok sure this guy can be stubborn which plays a part of his flaw, but Shaw's stubbornness is not exactly a bad thing for it helps him with somethings. His flaw is something that has roots in his own past and the story comes out.

This is a story that really grips a reader from the very start with all that happens. Then it was hard to put the book down through all the emotional ups and downs of the story. I also have to say that the conflict of the story, besides being internal, is actually racing the clock. Misunderstandings at time threaten so much but there are hurdles that must be jumped time and time again it seems. There was no time to stop and wonder what was happening for things were happening pretty quickly it seemed.

This is a book worth reading so I hope all who pick it up takes time to enjoy it like I did.


 

Other "Home to Dover" Books


Protecting the Widower's Heart   
His Small-Town Family