Saturday, September 19, 2015

Loving the Country Boy by Mia Ross

About the Book

A City Girl's Second Chance 

City girl Tess Barrett hopes her move to Barrett's Mill, Virginia, will give her a fresh start. As she gets to know the family she's never met and begins work at their sawmill, everything starts falling into place. Until she meets Heath Weatherby. After narrowly escaping an oil rig explosion, Heath won't waste his second chance at life. He's committed to starting a family—and he wants Tess for his wife. Tess refuses to give in to her feelings for Heath, convinced they're just too different. But when the rugged mechanic is hired to fix her family's mill, her heart begins to recognize the charming country boy as her one true love.

Barrett's Mill: In the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains, a family legacy leads to love

This book released in August 2015
This was a well loved library book that was reviewed


My Review

“Loving the Country Boy” by Mia Ross is the latest book in her 'Barrett's Mill' series and frankly not entirely sure if it is the end of the series or not, but above all else it is a great stand alone book though it connects nicely with the other books in the series. I found this book to be so tender and perfect for a lazy day of reading.

There is just enough of a struggle in the story to keep a person interested in seeing how it is going to be resolved. I have to say that to this reader the struggle wasn't always in the forefront of the entire story, but yet it was there in small ways to remind the reader and the character that the struggle is still there but daily life is important. Also though it is really only one character struggling there is someone else who helps push the character outside of where they were that makes the struggling character stop and think about what they are doing.

Tess is a woman who is learning several things about her family while she is doing what she can to help out. Helping out when and where she can is something that she really enjoys doing which shows her some new things about herself. She has this spunk about her as well, something she learned from out west and funny enough things that she learned out west didn't always help her in the small town of Barrett's Mill. The spunk though helped her wade through some interesting lessons within her own family.

Heath is a man with a plan but learns to go with the flow. At times I thought, “Here is a hero that is a little perfect.” and then something happen that knocked him off that hero pedestal in one fell swoop in the perfect way, and in a way that hints about his past for some reason couldn't do it. There is something wholesome and down to earth about Heath but there is a little something else that makes him such a hero and I won't spoil that discovery for others so I will leave it there.

The story started out with Tess and Heath meeting in a different way, and frankly there wasn't much attraction between them for I got the impression that both of them were on completely different roads of life, but a friendship grew and then so much more. I never felt rushed in the slightest with the telling of the story for it seemed to move at such a smooth pace that everything seemed to happened as it would in real everyday life. Do I feel I am giving anything away, not really considering this is a romance book which means of course there is going to be a happy ending at the end of it all, the journey is getting there, and this is a lovely story of getting to the end.

I loved the struggles and especially the little bit of a surprise near the end of the book. I hope all who pick up this book will enjoy it as much as I did.

Other 'Barrett's Mill' Books

Friday, September 18, 2015

Finding His Way Home by Mia Ross

To be honest I thought I had posted my review of this book when I read it over the summer time but apparently with all the summer activities it slipped my mind so I am posting it now.

About the Book

Repairing His Heart 

Prodigal son Scott Barrett is back home in Barrett's Mill—with plans to atone for his past mistakes and restore his future. But the quiet Virginia village feels like a different place since his return. The old cottage and chapel are crying out for repair—much like Scott himself. Luckily, sensitive artist Jenna Reed offers to help. Jenna sees Scott without judgment—though she reveals little about her own troubled past. As they work together to renovate the chapel, Scott begins to earn her trust, and soon he's envisioning life with the beautiful Jenna. Can the love of a good woman finally make him whole? 

Barrett's Mill: In the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains, a family legacy leads to love


This was a well loved library book that was reviewed

My Review 

“Finding His Way Home” by Mia Ross is the third book in her 'Barrett's Mill' and I wonder if there will be another book in the series to come out later on for there seems to be a hint of it here especially towards the end. There are two characters who are introduced into the book that seem a little uncertain and for some reason I just get this feeling that they almost belong together. I would be interested to see if that is the case that is for sure.

Jenna is a woman we have seen in the prior books and get a sense that she is her own her person with an interesting life. I have to say that now we get to see how truly interesting Jenna is for the life she has lead has been interesting. This is a character who has her doubts but at the same time her outlook at life is bright, while she also has learned a few things that really help her along her path. Jenna is a woman who is willing to make her own judgments in regards to other people which makes her a very special person for she waits to make those judgments while keeping herself open completely to the other people around her.

Scott is a man who we have heard little about, but there was a reason why his story just wouldn't have been the same if it came from anyone else. I have to say that Scott, regardless of how he projects himself, is a pretty courageous character for he was pretty honest when asked about his problems in the past. He wasn't one to lie about it, while not exactly being completely upfront with people just for the sake of it. He understood some other people's reactions to him, but those reactions bothered him none-the-less. He learns several lessons throughout the story which helps him bring about to look at life differently.

This is a story of second chances, forgiveness and rethinking life plans. Really both Jenna and Scott get those second chances. Jenna may not realize that she is getting her second chance but I could see it. She was so certain about how her life was going to be all because of her past, but her second chance was still there for the taking if she was willing, which of course has her rethinking the plans she made for her life. Scott, now his second chances are really quite easy to see if he was only willing to open up to those around him and reach for them. Because of his past he was so certain how his life was going to go forward in a certain way but life often laughs at our plans.

The forgiveness is a subtle thing on how it was presented. One of the characters feels that they are in need of forgiveness from those around them, yet really it seems as if the forgiveness is needed only to be extended to themselves.
Other 'Barrett's Mill' Books 

Blue Ridge Reunion

Wednesday, September 16, 2015

“The Convenient Cowboy” by Lacy Williams

About the Book
Do You Take This Cowboy? 

A blizzard traps rancher Davy White in his family's secluded cabin with Rose Evans…and she's nine months pregnant! Help is miles away, and Davy must work to keep them both alive. As the storm rages outside, he comes to care for the vulnerable widow. Enough that he's willing to offer her his name—against his family's objections.

Rose will do anything for her baby, but she's recently widowed. She doesn't know if she can trust the feelings she has toward Davy. And she refuses to come between him and his family. But the more time they spend together, the less she can resist the comforting, caring cowboy.

Wyoming Legacy: United by family, destined for love


This book was released in June 2015
This is a well loved library book that was used for the review

My Review
“The Convenient Cowboy” by Lacy Williams is the latest book in her 'Wyoming Legacy' series but never fear this is a stand alone book.  This is Davy's story and man I love the White's with all that happens to them.

Here is a story of overcoming, though it might not be noticeable right off the bat, but that is what I think of the story anyway.  Overcoming the hurt of being left behind.  Overcoming the hurt from the past.  Overcoming the hurt of being alone.  And finally overcoming the hurt of the uncertainties of the present.  Each thing that is overcome is small by itself, but when they are all put together the way they are, it is just something that is really beautiful.

Davy is a man who is determined to have everything ready for his brothers return, regardless what his family thinks about his plans, though he wants their approval.  Then when he is faced with all those plans being changed on him, he can face those changes one of two ways, and it is how he acts that shows so much more about his character.  He feels deeply but he has this ability to cover those up, not exactly by hiding them but just not by showing them.  I know that sounds like an oxymoron but really understand Davy White one is just going to have to read this book.

Rose is a woman who has not had the easiest of lives up to this point.  When she is found she has been struggling to do what she had to do with what was around her.  Actually the more this reader got to know Rose the more I saw a deep strength that I don't even think she realized that she had.  She is determined to do everything she can to help out and pull her share, but not so stubborn that she can't see what is best for her and her child.

This is also a story of fighting to a better tomorrow.  It seems as if both Davy and Rose are fighting in completely different ways.  One is fighting for the tomorrow that has been planned while the other is fighting just for tomorrow.  With the way they are fighting at times it seems almost as if they are fighting together then there are times when they are fighting separately.  Now I don't mean that they are fighting with words against each other, but  they are taking all they can to fight inner and outer forces that are working against them.

This a wonderful story that I hope all who read it enjoy it greatly like I did.  

Other "Wyoming Legacy" Books
Roping the Wrangler

Monday, September 14, 2015

“Bachelor to the Rescue” by Lorraine Beatty

About the Book

Building a Romance

Young widow Lainie Hollings will do anything to protect her daughters—even if it means accepting help from Shaw McKinney. Though she blames Shaw for her husband's death, he's the only one she can turn to when a robbery forces her to take shelter in his home. Soon she's surprised by the handsome contractor. He's kind, charming and determined to protect her and her girls. Being with Lainie makes Shaw want to give up his bachelor life and become a family man. But he'll need to win over the pretty librarian and prove to her he's the right man for her future.


Please visit Lorraine Beatty's website

Buy "Bachelor to the Rescue" from  Amazon
Buy "Bachelor to the Rescue" from Barnes&Noble 

This book was released in May 2015
This is a well loved library book that was reviewed

My Review 

“Bachelor to the Rescue” by Lorraine Beatty is the third book in her 'Home to Dover' series, but it is a perfect stand alone book. I remember reading the other 'Home to Dover' books but couldn't remember what the details were, but I never felt loss while reading this book, which is why I say it is a perfect stand alone book.

There is quite a few things that can be taken from this book. Anger is not something that can be lived with easily. Forgiveness heals so much. Clearing the air leads to a great deal of healing. How it easy it is to see something in other people but refuse to see something in themselves. Mostly though when all that has been done it is just laying everything in God's hands and see how things work out for worrying doesn't do a whole lot of good.

Lainie is a woman who is doing what she must do in order to take care of her little girls. When she is faced with something that really is pushing her out of her comfort level she faces it with a courage of a mother's heart. Her heart overall is warm and tender that is visible to all those who take a moment to get to know her. Lainie is facing an uphill battle but how she tries to climb that hill again shows her compassion and logic. She may blame someone for something in the past but she isn't too bitter that the air can't be cleared.

Shaw is a man who is a typical Alpha Male. He feels as if he has to take responsibility for those around him, be the guy who solves all the problems but he has a flaw. Ok sure this guy can be stubborn which plays a part of his flaw, but Shaw's stubbornness is not exactly a bad thing for it helps him with somethings. His flaw is something that has roots in his own past and the story comes out.

This is a story that really grips a reader from the very start with all that happens. Then it was hard to put the book down through all the emotional ups and downs of the story. I also have to say that the conflict of the story, besides being internal, is actually racing the clock. Misunderstandings at time threaten so much but there are hurdles that must be jumped time and time again it seems. There was no time to stop and wonder what was happening for things were happening pretty quickly it seemed.

This is a book worth reading so I hope all who pick it up takes time to enjoy it like I did.


Other "Home to Dover" Books

Protecting the Widower's Heart   
His Small-Town Family

Sunday, September 13, 2015

“The Rancher's Second Chance” by Brenda Minton

About the Book   
Reunited with the Cowboy 

Pregnant and running scared, Grace Thomas turns to the one man she knows she can count on: rancher Brody Martin. The charismatic Texan promises to protect her, but she knows he'll never forgive her for breaking his heart and taking up with his former best friend. Given Brody's own unsettled past, Grace understands that the guarded cowboy needs time to trust her again. Yet as he helps her prepare for the baby's arrival, Grace knows she's found the perfect father for her child. But can she dare to dream of a second chance with the man she's never stopped loving?

This book was released in September 2015
This was a well loved library book that was reviewed

My Review

“The Rancher's Second Chance” by Brenda Minton is the third book in her 'Martin's Crossing' series that grabbed my attention by grabbing my throat from the second page, but if someone hasn't read the other two books no worries for this is a great stand alone book as well.

Within the pages of this book, for those who have read the other 'Martin's Crossing' books, Brody is explained finally. Brody has been a pretty stoic character without a lot of explaining, I always figured it was because his story would be coming out soon enough, but here we learn a lot about this young man who has been carrying around a whole lot more baggage than he wants to admit. There is a lot that this young man has had to deal with over the years, especially the last year or so. He learns to face some of his own demons that he has avoided for too long, and he learns a few things about being alone as well.

There is a subject that is dealt with, within the pages of the book and that is abuse. It is something that is used to help move the story along but in a realistic way. I just wanted to warn everyone about it so that if they have something in their past that is unresolved and this kind of thing bothers them, then they are given the heads up. Personally though there is a one moment in the book that is a bit scary in its realistic way, it is used to help move the story along. I also really enjoyed how during the story the victim has learned that it wasn't their fault that they lost who they were, what they believed in and more, and that in order to move forward they needed to learn who they were and what they believed in once again. This was a story line that showed the character's true inner strength and determination to get back something that they lost.

Grace is a woman who knows who she can turn to, even with all that happened in the past. Grace is someone who has learned a lot about herself lately and realizing a few things were not as seemed in her past. There is something special and tender about Grace who wants to get back into church and a little uncertain about going by herself, but strong enough to know when she wants to be kissed. This a just little things from the story that I don't feel bad about relieving for they are not major scenes in the story over all but they show something about her.

There didn't seem to be much movement in the story line that I thought was there, so maybe I was mistaken on that. The one clear story line that has been through it all really moved forward with a BIG twist that I didn't see coming at all. I really look forward to seeing more about that twist in future books for there is no way possible that is it as for the twist, because if it is I might just have to stop reading Ms. Minton's books for that would be a cruel and horrible thing to do to her readers, and I don't believe for one single second that Ms. Minton is a cruel woman. When the twist was revealed though I was angry for the Martin's sake, for it was heartbreaking and wasn't what I expected at all, and I got the impression it wasn't exactly what was to be expected period, but then again not a total surprise.

This is a story that didn't take place over a short period of time but over several months. Okay well maybe the large portion of the story takes place over a month or so, but the story started long before first page, and then there are periods of time where time is skipped with a quick overview of anything important that happened. This really helped making the story seem realistic for it was not rushed especially with the abuse portion of the story.

I am so glad that I picked up this book for it is the first book in a couple of weeks that grabbed me by the heart and wouldn't let me put the book down. I hope all who read this book will enjoy it as much as I did and I am anxiously waiting for the next book in the 'Martin's Crossing' series that is suppose to be out early next year.

Other "Martin's Crossing" Books