Friday, September 4, 2015

"In Perfect Time" by Sarah Sundin

About the Book

Two hearts are about to learn the rhythm of love

Bold, sophisticated, and coy, Army Air Force flight nurse Lt. Kay Jobson collects hearts wherever she flies, leaving men pining in airfields all across Europe. So how can ruggedly handsome C-47 pilot Lt. Roger Cooper be all but immune to her considerable charms? In fact, he seems to do everything he can to avoid her.

Still, as they cross the skies between Italy and southern France, evacuating the wounded and delivering paratroopers and supplies, every beat of their hearts draws them closer. Can they overcome the fears and misunderstandings of the past in order to take hold of the future?

This book was published in July 2014
This was a well loved library book that was used to review

My Review

“In Perfect Time” by Sarah Sundin is the third and final book in her 'Wings of the Nightingale' and what a cruel (and I say that in the best of ways too) book it was.  I don't remember the last book I bawled so much through or had my heart in my throat so much of the book, but I went through plenty of tissue and couldn't swallow a lot of time because of my heart being in my throat.

This is a book that is set in the middle of World War II and much like the other two books in the series there are plenty of scenes around what happens in the war.  I would have to say that unlike the other two books this didn't really have scenes of battle but there was still plenty of war problems.  Again nothing graphic, gruesome or so bad that I couldn't stomach it (I am a squeamish person even with words on paper).  The trails and hurdles that had to be overcome were what made this book so cruel for I just couldn't put the book down for any reason.  I am so glad that I can read a book like this in an afternoon so that the torture wouldn't have been dragged out for that long.

I have to say that with this being the third book, I have noticed that none of the characters had the same problems and they each faced something so totally different, and I would say the best was saved for the last.  I never expected the past's like Roger and Kay though I knew they were both hurting.  Actually both of them surprised me a great deal throughout the story in the best of ways.  I knew I was starting to like Kay from the other books but I never expected her to be my favorite out of the three young ladies and yet she was and is.  Roger is the man I expected him to be but didn't realize that he had to work to get there or that he had some issues.

Yet once again I can't describe either Kay or Roger for they do go through some radical changes throughout the story.  They are truly not how they seem in the other books for there is so much under the outer layers that they show to the world and people around them. 

Strength is a large portion of this story for everyone, not just Kay and Roger, had to have the strength for all that they were going through.  Almost everyone learned something with what they go through, they learned what they were really made of and so much more.  I would have to say that though I cried a lot and my heart ached for what they were going through.  I couldn't forget this was a war and yet it was more than just the World War too that was being fought.

I hope all who read this series enjoys as much as I did.  This is my first readings by Ms. Sundin but I can promise it wont be my last.

Thursday, September 3, 2015

"On Distant Shores" by Sarah Sundin

About the Book

Caught between the war raging around them and the battles within, two souls long for peace--and a love that remains true.

Lt. Georgiana Taylor has everything she could want. A boyfriend back home, a loving family, and a challenging job as a flight nurse. But in July 1943, Georgie's cozy life gets more complicated when she meets pharmacist Sgt. John Hutchinson.

Hutch resents the lack of respect he gets as a noncommissioned serviceman and hates how the war keeps him from his fiancée. While Georgie and Hutch share a love of the starry night skies over Sicily, their lives back home are falling apart. Can they weather the hurt and betrayal? Or will the pressures of war destroy the fragile connection they've made?

This book was published in August 2013
This was a well loved library book that was used to review

My Review

“On Distant Shores” by Sarah Sundin is the second book in her 'Wings of the Nightingale' series and a book that had me holding my breath more times that I dare count.

Like “With Every Letter” this is a story that takes place in the middle of a war and on the front lines almost.  And like “With Every Letter” this has battle scenes, scenes with injuries, and other nightmares of war without going into too many details.  However, even without the details the emotions where there so richly written that it was hard not to feel all of the emotions that would go with the events.  With all that was happening it was so hard to put down the book.  There are moments, not as often as with the first book, that really were overly detailed but that didn't distract from the book this time around.

This is a story of change.  Not change like the first book and maybe growth is a better term.  Yes, I think growth is more what this story is about.  Growth in so many ways that is for sure and to watch the growth that was happening was truly remarkable.

The romance was unbelievable, and I don't mean that it was hard to believe, but that it was incredible.  It was not a simple romance but with all the hurdles that had to be overcome it was hard not to wonder how it was going to work out, after all with all good romances have struggles and this had a ton of struggles to overcome.  Things are not exactly fair for either of them and they have so many choices to make in life as well.

Again I can't really describe Georgie or Hutch because if I do that then I will be giving something away in the story that makes it so wonderful.  They each have choices to make, that will change how their lives will go on.  One is treated unfairly, but then again in the Army things don't go the way they should, and this is a great example of that.  The other one is suffering from pressure from outside to do something they are not all that sure about.

I hope all who read this book enjoys it as much as I did.

Wednesday, September 2, 2015

“With Every Letter” by Sarah Sundin

About the Book

They know everything about each other--except their real names

Lt. Mellie Blake is looking forward to beginning her training as a flight nurse. She is not looking forward to writing a letter to a man she's never met--even if it is anonymous and part of a morale-building program. Lt. Tom MacGilliver, an officer stationed in North Africa, welcomes the idea of an anonymous correspondence--he's been trying to escape his infamous name for years.

As their letters crisscross the Atlantic, Tom and Mellie develop a unique friendship despite not knowing the other's true identity. When both are transferred to Algeria, the two are poised to meet face-to-face for the first time. Will they overcome their fears and reveal who they are, or will their future be held hostage by their pasts?


This book was released in September 2012
This is a book is from my personal Kindle collection 


My Review

“With Every Letter” by Sarah Sundin is the first book in her 'Wings of the Nightingale' series.

This is a full length novel that is set during World War II.  Now this is the first full length novel that I have read during that time period for I really wanted to see if I was going to enjoy an era that I have always avoided before.  I have read only a few Heartsong Presents, and for those who don't read them they are books with only about 170 to 180 pages, that opened my eyes to the whole time period in the first place.  This book really sealed the deal and I need to stop avoiding time periods for apparently I will enjoy the book.

Honestly this book at first was hard to get into.  Finally at around page 170 things turned around and it became a really good book that I just couldn't put down.  I have to wonder if those first 170 or so pages where used to help set up the rest of the series.  It was hard to get into because it was just slow and at times it seemed as if there was too many details that just bogged down the story.  Actually the too many details was something I found throughout the whole book but once it picked up speed it didn't matter much any more.

I usually try to describe the characters but honestly I can't do that with this book for both Tom and Mellie change so much through the story that if I was to describe them then I would be giving away so much.  I just couldn't take away anything for really the changes that they go through really is what makes the store.  The way they supported each other was beautiful and so tender.  The way open up and help each other is also  what helped make the whole story so wonderful.

This is a book that is set basically in the middle of the war, and that is not glossed over by not talking about what is going on.  I am a person who can't abide by gruesome details of death, shooting, and violence, so with that said, I would like to say that this is a book that shows war is going on around them.  There are scenes of battle, scenes of death, scenes of injuries, but they are not so graphic that I couldn't read them.  I would allow my friends tween daughter read this book because this doesn't glorify war, but it doesn't show the worse of it.  So though I say I found at times the book had too many details, when it came to the worse part of war, there was this balance of just enough for the reader to understand what is happening without getting into the details that would be too graphic.

I am looking forward to reading the rest of the series, and I hope all who pick up this book enjoys it at much as I did.

Tuesday, September 1, 2015

"Unexpected Family" by Jill Kemerer

About the Book

His Surprise Daughter 

After five years apart, Tom Sheffield is shocked to find his ex-wife, Stephanie, on his doorstep. The news that they share a child he's never met sends him reeling. Four-year-old Macy has his eyes, his mouth and, from their first encounter, his heart. Things with her mother are much more complicated. He doesn't understand what went wrong between them or why she kept their daughter a secret. And he's afraid of falling in love all over again. Yet he feels a glimmer of hope that somehow he can convince Macy and Stephanie to stay in Lake Endwell—and with him—for keeps.

This book was released in September 2015
I was given this book in exchange for an honest review

My Review
“Unexpected Family” by Jill Kemerer is another wonderful Sheffield sibling story and though there isn't the laughter moments like with “Small-Town Bachelor” but this was just as wonderful in its own very special way. With this book the emotions is not laughter but heartache and fear. I think it is something wonderful when an author can write two completely different stories and pull something completely different emotion wise from the same reader.

As I said, this is a story that is full of fear, but not fear like some kind of horror that is going to jump out any moment on a page, but it is a fear of repeating past mistakes, fear of the consequences, fear of the unknown when things turn upside down and fear of emotions. Then there is the heartache that happens with when confronting the past that hasn't had full closure, heartache when one knows they did something wrong, and heartache of believing one thing painful. But above all those emotions there is hope. Hope of overcoming the wrongs of the past, hope of trying to make everything work and hope of something more.

Tom Sheffield is a man who is finally trying to do something for himself when suddenly his whole world is turned upside down when he is told that he has a child. How he handles everything truly shows what is important to him. He knows where he has made mistakes and wonders if things could be different. Tom is a hard working man without a doubt and is willing to listen to suggestions. Now he is older and is willing to make comprises to make what is important to him finally happen.

Stephanie is a young woman who has made some whopper of mistakes but the biggest one seems to be her unwillingness to let go of the past. She has grown and changed too for she is juggling so many things now because of her choices. There are things that Stephanie has done that she is righting now, and somethings that frankly will have to just have to go. There are things she wants for her future, but she is not so set in her own ways that she can't see other ways of doing things.

Then there is little Macy who frankly I just loved for she was so realistic for her age. Her whole mannerism when confronted with something she didn't like spoke well of her age, and I have to say that it was amazing that Ms. Kemerer really captured a stubborn, adorable, knowing of her own mind child. I would swear Ms. Kemerer knew my own child when they were the same age as Macy.

Things may not have moved as quickly as in her first book, but then again this is dealing with something completely different. The forward movement of this book is more of baby steps, but those steps were so incredibly important. Those baby steps show how much growth has actually happened, where mistakes were made before and what dreams are there now. Even though it was all baby steps it was so hard for me to put down the book for I just needed to know what was going to come out next.

The characters are written with such depth that it is so hard not to place oneself in their shoes, to hurt when they are hurting and to feel the frustration that they feel. The conflict of the story is so part of today's world with so many people, that the conflict didn't feel forced, dragged out or anything but a natural flowing conflict. Sometimes this type of a conflict can feel just a little off somehow but not this time.

I truly hope all that who pick up this book will enjoy it as much as I did. I received a Kindle version of this wonderful book for free in exchange for an honest review which this is.