Friday, May 22, 2015

“Her Christmas Wish” by Kathryn Springer

About the Book 

To: Uncle Eli
From: Olivia
Dear Uncle Eli, 
I don't think Daddy is getting me what I really want for Christmas—a mommy. He's been sad since Mommy died, and I want him to be happy again. And ever since Leah, my new nanny, came to stay, he's been smiling more. She's really nice. She makes cookies with me and takes me to church. I think Leah is perfect for us. I told him he should marry her, but he's busy with his carpentering stuff. Maybe he'll listen to you? Tell him my Christmas wish is to have Leah with us, ALWAYS.

Please visit Kathryn Springer's website

This book was released in June 2005
This is my own personal book that was reviewed

My Review

Her Christmas Wish” by Kathryn Springer is the fifth book of 'Tiny Blessings' series but is the perfect stand alone book. This was a rescued book that apparently had never been read that I picked up at a local yard sale, and the only one in the series that I was able to pick up so the only one I have read.

There is a series story-line that can be seen some in the story but it is not in your face to where I felt like I was missing too much, though there is something going on that I wish I had the answers to. I actually did something that I don't normally do and that is read the reviews for the next book and I think I have the gist of what happens. Even though I was curious enough to go to that length I don't think I would have felt like I would have been deprived of anything if I didn't get the gist of what happens.

Leah is a woman who loves working with children but she is holding something back from everyone around her. When something happens that she never thought possible she decides to take a chance and goes with the flow. Her faith is a shining light that is for sure throughout the whole story, without it actually being preachy but more comforting. Leah is a wonderful example how love is so powerful that love will forget past sins, especially when it is God's love that we seek for we are completely forgiven and our sins are totally forgotten. Leah also is an amazing woman for she turned what could have been a bad situation into something much worse but the choice she made was a loving one that is for sure.

Ben is hurting in a bad way even after all the time to move on, and as a result he has become the person he is in the book. Slowly another side of Ben comes out but the one thing that never changes is the love he has for his daughter. Ben is even willing to get in the way of what he thinks might hurt his precious child even when he isn't certain about how it is going to affect him in the process.

I actually loved the connection that Ben has with his daughter, beyond the father/daughter connection. I also enjoyed how this topic was spoken so freely and some of the complications that could be experienced from older people dealing with this same issue. Hopefully it is not something that is going to be experienced in the future but one never knows completely. It also looks at the preconceptions of the other side of the topic and the hard choices that are made there. I found it really wonderful to see.

I hope that all who has a chance to read this book, enjoys it as much as I did.

Other "Tiny Blessing" Books

For the Twins' Sake
Brought Together by Baby
On The Doorstep
The Cinderella Plan
Past Secrets, Present Love

Thursday, May 21, 2015

"The Doctor's Second Chance" by Missy Tippens

About the Book 

The Bachelor's Baby

Jake West's troubled cousin leaves him with a most unusual parting gift—her newborn baby girl! And now the small-town contractor is forced to seek help from the very woman he resents—the new big-city pediatrician who practically stole his uncle's practice, Violet Crenshaw. Violet knows she shouldn't be consorting with the enemy. But she can't resist the adorable baby and her handsome new caretaker. Violet traded her chance at motherhood for her career years ago. But raising a family with Jake could be everything she's ever wanted.

This book was released in May 2015
This is a well loved library book that was reviewed

My Review

“The Doctor's Second Chance” by Missy Tippens is a wonderful book about second chances and not just for the main characters either. Here is a story of learning to trust, learning to accept when one is wrong, learning new things and those second chances.

I have to say I do enjoy these stories where anger and distrust is there on both parties from the start of the story for these are the kind of stories really have a lot of work to get to the happy ending. This is no different for there is a lot of work for these two people who haven't gotten to know each other but were so sure they knew all they needed to know of the other person.

Someone is holding onto a pretty big secret and that secret is touching all parts of the character life and it is hurting the character in so many aspects of their life. This secret is something that the reader is given the privilege of seeing what the secret is long before it is brought out into the open. By allowing the reader to know what is going on allows the reader to help empathize with this character while pulling at the heart strings. Ok well maybe it only pulled at this readers heart strings.

When things really get out of control, it seems as if things will not be able to be worked out for when everything is out of control, words are said and emotions are running high. One wonders how through all that is said and done how things are going to work out, for really with all that is going on it is hard to see how things can work out in the end.

I have to say I found myself laughing at Jake with all his bumbling, and tears falling by the end of the book because of all that happened. Both Jake and Violet are stubborn people who think they have it all figured out. In some strange ways these two stubborn people teach the other some pretty big lessons that only help them become better people. As they are forced to work together for a greater good, preconceived notions start to fall away as well as other emotions.

This is a book that is really worth the read so if you get a hold of this book, plan on a sweet but slightly emotional trip to Appleton, GA. I hope all who do read this book enjoys it as much as I did.

Wednesday, May 20, 2015

“A Dad for Her Twins” by Lois Richer

About the Book 

The Cowboy's New Family

Widow Abby McDonald is pregnant with twins, suddenly homeless and has nowhere to go. When her late husband's army buddy offers her a temporary haven at his family ranch in Buffalo Gap, Abby accepts the handsome cowboy's hospitality. She knows that Cade Lebret, an honorable man with a complicated life on the Double L, is just "doing the right thing." But when a needy foster child joins their makeshift family, Abby begins to see what a kind, loving father figure Cade is. Suddenly she's dreaming of making the Lebret family ranch her home forever.

Family Ties: Bundles of joy bring couples together.

This book was released in April 2015
This is a well loved library book that was reviewed

My Review

“A Dad for Her Twins” by Lois Richer is the first book in her 'Family Ties' series and an interesting start at that.

Here is the very beginning of Family Ties and that it in itself is pretty unique to see something from the ground up and I can't wait to see more of its growth.

I have to be honest though the characters really got on my nerves yet I enjoyed them greatly. The characters stayed in their character throughout the story so one was overly perfect while the other one was over flawed. Though at times this overly perfect and overly flawed character grated on my last nerve, here and there, there were hints as to there being more to them. Actually one character had hinted something bigger under it all but it never fully came out.

I tried to describe Abby and Cade but no matter how I tried I always seem to give something away about the story that would just ruin the story. So I will say that both of these characters each have some pretty important lessons to learn, though not exactly the same lessons. Also their hearts are there for all to see what they are truly beneath everything going on in their lives. Also both are beyond stubborn as all get out. Sometimes it was a wonder that they got beyond that stubbornness (it is a romance so of course they had to overcome it) to find their happy ending.

The conflict of the story is something that is internal and not only with one character. Granted one character has a bigger conflict than the other but none-the-less both characters are battling something inside of them. At times it seems as if there is no progress in the conflicts but then something would happen to show that there is indeed some progress.

I truly look forward to more books in the 'Family Ties' series for I want to see what happens next. Yes there is a series story line but really it is mild and I can't imagine that for future books it would matter all that much if readers don't read all the books. Then again I could be wrong about that.

I hope all who read this book will enjoy it as much as I did.

Tuesday, May 19, 2015

"Noah's Ark" by Debby Mayne

About the Book 

Now that she has a bachelor’s degree in art history, Emily is unable to find work in her field. So she heads to West Virginia, the only place she’s ever felt at home, to see if she can figure out what to do with her life.

Noah  may be in over his head. His veterinary practice is taking off, but he has little help and too many clients in arrears. When Emily comes to work for him part-time, her skills and pleasant nature quickly pull things into order. At least in the office. His heart, however, is another matter!

This book was released in September 2009
This is my own personal kindle book that was reviewed

My Review

“Noah's Ark” by Debby Mayne is a book that I got for my Kindle in order to use up the last of a gift card and it was a perfect book to read on a night when I just wanted something simple, easy and quick to read after a long day of being busy. This is a Heartsong Presents book that is now on Kindle as a Yours Truly Digital Edition. For me this is a pretty typical Heartsong Presents book so I got exactly what I hoped for.

For me Heartsong Presents books are usually (and I have read some that blew my mind and some that bored me to death) fairly simple without a lot of deep issues throughout the story. There is a bit of conflict that is a personal manner that is resolved but I know that things could have been explained a bit better, but frankly it was explained well enough to where I felt the conflict none the less. I couldn't help but feel for the characters Emily and Noah as they worked through everything.

Emily is a woman who is needing to figure things out now. She goes to the one place that she felt the happiest to try and figure out what she wants to do in the future. While there her pure and golden heart was visible to all those who got to know her, and she learns a few things about herself while on her journey to figure out her future.

Noah is a man who cares deeply about what he does. He knows his weaknesses but is not sure how to go about fixing them. His heart along with Emily's is pure and golden and it shows with all that he does. He has been hurt in the past and now he has to figure out what to do for the future now.

Both of these characters are on a journey and discoveries are made without a doubt here.

I hope that all who read this book enjoys the relaxing and easy read that this book is.

Monday, May 18, 2015

“Small-Town Bachelor” by Jill Kemerer

About the Book 

A Place to Call Home  

When Reed Hamilton arrives in Lake Endwell for a family wedding, he expects to do his part as best man then head back to the big city. But when a a tornado postpones the wedding, the town is in shambles and Reed is injured. Thankfully maid of honor Claire Sheffield offers him one of her cottages to recuperate in. Dedicated to her family and her dream job at the zoo, Claire is all about roots. She's this city slicker's opposite, yet as they help the town rebuild, Reed is captivated by her stunning looks and caring ways. He can't ask Claire to leave the life she loves for him, but he also can't imagine ever leaving her behind…

This book was released in April 2015
This is a well loved library book that was reviewed

My Review

“Small-Town Bachelor” by Jill Kemerer is the first book of hers for Love Inspired and frankly I hope it is not the last for Ms. Kemerer.  She drew this reader into the story from the get go and had me laughing at several different points. Then there is her unique way of describing things.

Frankly I rarely ever quote from a book and when I do it is usually only one quote, but this book has three memorable and I have to quote them for they were so different and priceless when I read them.
       All quotes are from the larger print book:
  • Page 8 ~ “He was hot enough to melt the ice sculpture sitting on second shelf of the walk-in freezer.”
  • Page 199 ~ “get the heart paddles, women are collapsing”
  • Page 281 ~ “That man could ignite a forest fire in the dead of winter."
Each of those quotes made me stop and laugh out loud for I had never seen anything like them before in describing a character before.

The story itself had moments of heart break that this reader couldn't help feeling, and humorous moments where I laughed out loud. The details of the story were balanced in such a way that I didn't feel overwhelm with pointless details, nor feeling as if I was not getting enough information to form a good mental picture. The details were enough to keep the story moving at a pretty good clip to where I didn't feel as if the story was stalling until the next step was taken. Okay honestly it seemed as if there was part of the story line that didn't move quickly but I think if it was rushed then it wouldn't have had the effect that it did on me.

Both Reed and Claire are so well developed that it was hard not to feel like I meet two new friends. These two friends, who were facing their own problems, are so sure they know what the truth is and not looking to change any of that. Through out the story there are little changes that one who is on the outside, like the reader, can see, sometimes really small changes while sometimes really big changes. If a couple of times it seems like a person is hit upside the head with the truth, and not the truth they were so sure of.

Claire is a woman who puts family first and then her dream job. Though those are the important things to her, she is also someone who is willing to help others without second guessing. Her heart is large, and her humor is visible to all. She is constantly thinking of others while working towards her goal. When things go south for her, she still finds something to smile about. That doesn't mean she is a Pollyanna for she isn't for she knows that there are something she just can't  change and her temper flares a couple of times.

Reed is a man who is going places and knows where he wants to go. He is so certain about his life that it honestly clouded his view of life at times. When people need him though he does what he can to help out without thought. It is understandable for his actions to be honest at the beginning of the story for I think anyone under the same circumstances would be the same way.

After looking a bit more for Jill Kemerer it does look like there will be another story coming out in a few months and frankly I can't wait. I hope we see a whole lot more about Sheffield family for all of the siblings have really touched something inside of me because of their stories. Yes, in this story we learn a few details about the back-stories of a few of the siblings, and that is what has me hoping for all of them to find their happy ending.

This is a book that is really worth the read so go ahead and pick up the book to read, I can't see anyone being disappointed in this book.

Sunday, May 17, 2015

"From Boss to Bridegroom" by Karen Kirst

About the Book 

Being tied up and delivered to the sheriff was not how Nicole O'Malley expected to meet her new boss. Quinn Darling had the audacity to mistake her for a burglar! Now she's counting the days until she can leave small-town life behind to open her own boutique. But as long as she's helping two runaways escape their vindictive stepdad, she can't leave town. 

Quinn's determined to triumph in his first business venture without the support of his wealthy family. He can't succeed without assistant Nicole, a beauty as prickly as she is captivating. As Quinn adjusts to the tight-knit community, he's soon set on another goal: breaking through Nicole's reserve to capture the love hidden in her heart. 

Smoky Mountain Matches: Dreams of home and family come true in the Smoky Mountains

Please visit Karen Kirst's website

This book was released in September 2009
This is my own personal kindle book that was reviewed

My Review

“From Boss to Bridegroom” by Karen Kirst is the sixth book in her 'Smokey Mountain Matches' series, but is great as a stand alone book. This is a book about jumping to conclusions about many different aspects such as judging another person and situations that was going on.

Newcomer Quinn is an interesting character that is for sure. Honestly I guess I had some preconceived notions about this character very early on that were shattered as the story unfolded. Quinn is an unusual character with all the usual hero characteristics. I say that he is unusual because of how he is going about with all the usual hero characteristics, for his humor is a weapon that he uses in all situations, yet his protective instincts he will follow regardless of the advice he is given.

Nicole is a woman with her own issues. I can understand the misunderstanding at the beginning of the book and was sorry to see that was never explained in the story, well it was explained to the reader but not to other characters in the story. Nicole is so certain she knows what has been going on and how to handle things on her own. She learns plently of lessons through out of the story.

There was one incident in the story that frankly broke my heart. It wasn't so much what happened, though that was heartbreaking but it was the way others reacted to what happened. To see how people could accept what happened and be upset when someone took a stand was heartbreaking. I understand that times are different but still what is right is right and what is wrong is wrong, and what happened here, I can't imagine ever being right. But then again it was a pretty important turning point in the story.

Over all I have say that this was a very enjoyable story that I just found hard to put down. I hope all who read this book enjoys it as much as I did.