Saturday, May 9, 2015

"The Rancher Takes a Bride" by Brenda Minton

About the Book  
His Secret Daughter

Duke Martin is a father! The former army medic is stunned when old love Oregon Jeffries tells him the news. Given his troubled past, the hardworking rancher and diner owner understands why Oregon kept his daughter a secret for twelve years. But now Duke desperately wants to make up for lost time. As he sets out to be a true father to Lilly, he soon realizes his feelings for Oregon are growing stronger. When Oregon's health falters, he's ready to care for her and prove that he's worthy of her love. Could this be Duke's second chance with the woman he never should have let get away?

This book was released in May 2015
This was a well loved library book that was reviewed

My Review

“The Rancher Takes a Bride” by Brenda Minton is the second book in her 'Martin's Crossing' series and it was a book I just couldn't put down. It solved one mystery while continuing with one story-line that I didn't realize was going to play through the series. I hope there is a resolution at some point with the questions this story-line has left behind.

Here is Duke's story and frankly a lot of answers were given. Looking back it seems as if there are a few very well placed and well hidden hints in “A Rancher for Christmas” that hinted towards this story but things didn't mesh quite right for them to make sense in that book, but it is all explained here in this book. I found the way everything was explained was just right for it wasn't too rushed and yet it didn't keep people guessing. I have to say that I was expecting one explanation when it was something totally different.

Again two un-trusting souls are a big part of this story, both have the same trust issue while being caused by very different reasons. Honestly some of this story-line seem to be so close to what was in “A Rancher for Christmas” but yet the way it was all set up it didn't seem like it was recycled story-line. It is obvious that the story-line was being set up in “A Rancher for Christmas” so it wasn't as if Ms. Minton didn't know what else to write so she recycled the last book plot. Also there is a reason why a character from this book, “The Rancher Takes a Wife” and from “A Rancher for Christmas” would have extremely similar trust issues, and I expect to see those trust issues again in her next book.

Decisions need to be made as to when things are going to be revealed for there are quite a few things that are revealed. So many decisions are needed: Decisions of acceptance or rejection. Decisions of bitterness or forgiveness. Decisions of letting go or holding on tight. Decisions of status quo or taking steps forward. Decisions of speaking the whole truth or holding things back. All of these decisions is just a part of what makes this book so interesting and attention grabbing.

I also enjoyed the story of single mom who puts her child's welfare above all else and does what she must. I loved how this mom made sure she let her child know that they were NOT a mistake even though she had made a mistake. It is never easy to make sure a child is a gift above all else even when the child's parents made a bit of a mistake. That is a fine line, but it seemed to have been straddled beautifully in this book.

I hope all who read this book enjoys it as much as I did. I am looking forward to reading Brody's story in the next book later this year.

Other "Martin's Crossing" Books
 A Rancher for Christmas
The Rancher Takes a Wife

Friday, May 8, 2015

"A Rancher for Christmas" by Brenda Minton

About the Book  

A Family for Christmas

Raised on the run, free-spirited Breezy Hernandez has never stayed in one place too long. But now that she has joint custody of her late brother's twin daughters, she's determined to give them a stable home. Even if it means cooperating with the twins' bossy uncle. Texas rancher Jake Martin learned the hard way that women can't be trusted. But as he and Breezy care for the orphaned girls, Jake begins to open his heart. Is Breezy ready to put down roots in Martin's Crossing, or will she run from the one thing she's always wanted: a family?

Martin's Crossing: In this small Texas town, every heart finds a home

This book was released in December 2014
This was a well loved library book that was reviewed

My Review

“A Rancher for Christmas” by Brenda Minton is the first book in her 'Martin's Crossing' series. This is a book that take us from Oklahoma and the Cooper family to Martin's Crossing in Texas to the Martin family. There is a cross over character of Breezy Hernandez who we met in “The Cowboy Lawman”. If anyone is picking up Ms. Minton's book for the first time, no worries for though there is the cross over character this is a book that covers anything that is important and gives us a greater understanding of Breezy and the life she lived.

Here is a story that takes place over a short period of time but frankly I have gotten use to that when it comes to Christmas stories. I have apparently read this book when it came out but never wrote a review which is a shame. I think I read it during a time when things were so crazy, but I am writing a wrong now by writing the review. I enjoyed this story this time around as much as I did during the first reading. I thought I remembered some things as I read the story and figured I knew how certain things were going to turn out but apparently I remembered wrong which made me really glad to have read the book again before I picked up “The Rancher Takes a Bride”.

Here is a story of two un-trusting souls who are now forced to work together for the sake of two little orphaned children. It is that story that makes this whole story interesting for though both Breezy and Jake come from different backgrounds and have different trust issues, it is strange to see how similar they really are. Sure they most certainly have different backgrounds for one was constantly on the move while the other lived in the same home for as long as they could remember. Both have lost loved ones while children that affected them in very different ways, yet with the same result which is fear of others staying put. One fears that other is just going to go away while the other fears that everything is going to be yanked from them. To see what has caused these trust issues is really interesting and more interesting to watch the resolution of those trust issues.

There is an interesting little mystery that is going on. Part of the mystery is solved and I thought honestly that there was a whole lot more of the mystery that was solved in “A Rancher for Christmas” so I am left scratching my head wondering what is going on. I think I know what is going to happen but frankly now I am not so sure for I must be thinking of another book and story line. I am so curious as to see how this going to progress and what some of the minor characters are going to do in future books. There is one character that seemed strange to have such a part of the story unless there is more to come and I look forward to it if it works.

The happy ending is a given after all it is a romance book and it wouldn't be a romance book without that happy ending. The way the happy ending comes into completion is what really makes the story so interesting and wonderful. There is a something going on besides trying to figure out how to become a family. There is enough romance, action and just a tad mystery to keep a reader really interested in the story. I hated putting this book down each time I had to take care of laundry.

I hope all who reads this book enjoys it as much as I did.

Other "Martin's Crossing" Books

 A Rancher for Christmas
The Rancher Takes a Wife

Thursday, May 7, 2015

“The Cowboy's Forever Family” by Deb Kastner

About the Book  

His Best Friend's Baby 

Widowed and pregnant, Laney Beckett wants nothing to do with stubborn rodeo cowboy Slade McKenna. But avoiding her late husband's best friend is nearly impossible now that Slade thinks Laney and her baby need his protection. Though Slade figures he's too rough a man to settle down, his thrill-seeking ways have already cost him his childhood pal. Looking out for the man's wife and child is the least he can do, especially when headstrong Laney doesn't know the first thing about running the family's ranch. For the sake of baby Beckett, Laney and Slade give friendship a chance…but could they become a true family? 

Cowboy Country: Surprise babies lead to unexpected love in Texas

This book was released in March 2015
This is a book from my personal collection that was reviewed

My Review

“The Cowboy's Forever Family” by Deb Kastner is the second book in her 'Country Cowboy' series and a book that teaches a few lessons not only to the characters but possibly to the reader as well.

There seems to be something that nearly everyone does, though we will try to deny it for it makes a person seem so shallow. Wondering what I might be talking about, it is the fact that we often judge by a book by its cover, never bothering to look beyond the covers of the book to see what the book is involved. Now is anyone wondering what I am talking about, the book or the characters, well if anyone has read the blurb about the book then they will know I am more in likely referring to the characters, Slade and Laney. It was truly amazing to see how these two characters interacted with each other.

Here are two characters who see things in a certain light and not sure they really want see things any differently, as a result things are nearly at a combustible stage from the very beginning, and really doesn't ease up through the story. It really makes it interesting to see how everything plays out.

Laney is a young woman who has a lot on her plate that is for sure but that is not stopping her from moving forward with all that she thinks she needs to do. She is constantly trying to climb the mountains that are placed in front of her and does so with a lot of grit. Though she doesn't want to, she begins to see some of her faults and looks for things to change by working on it.

Slade is a man who is not really at all who he appears at the beginning. I would love to describe him more but really here is a character that really needs to be explored through getting into the story. I do have to say that his faith though is something that I was able to totally relate too. It was this that really made him so relate-able to everyone who have felt this same way.

Truly this story was interesting for it was told in such a way that really touched this readers heart. Grief is such a hard thing to deal with then add to that all the other things that were going on it, made for a compelling story that at least this reader just had to find out how things were going to work out in the end. Along the way one had to wonder if maybe there wasn't something more from the very beginning that no-one wanted to admit to, or was it just as it explained throughout the story.

I truly hope all who read this book enjoys it as much as I have.

Tuesday, May 5, 2015

"His Bundle of Love" by Patricia Davids

About the Book  


I would love to be a dad, to hold a sticky hand while we watch a ball game. But is Caitlin Williams's daughter coming into my arms at birth part of Your plan? Caitlin named me as the dad so her preemie could receive urgent medical care. That's why I brought the Williams women home with me until Caitlin gets back on her feet. I sense she's hiding something about her past—I wish she'd realize secrets can tear you apart.

Now I can't imagine my life without them. I've even proposed to Caitlin—for the baby's sake, of course. But convincing Caitlin to make the three of us a family will be no easy task.

This book was released in January 2006
This is a book from my personal collection that was reviewed

My Review

“His Bundle of Love” by Patricia Davids, according her Dear Reader in the back, is her first published novel. In the last two days, I have read her first published and her latest published and frankly without the Dear Reader, I wouldn't have realized it.  It is rare when a first published book is written so well that it is hard to tell the first from the last like this book.  The whole book was so well written that there was nothing missing for the characters were exceptionally well developed, the plot wasn't lacking any details, and the scenes were so well written without an overload or lacking of details.

Here is a story full of secrets, and some of the most heart wrenching moments I have read in a while. Life for Caitlin has not been easy and frankly it doesn't seem as if it getting any easier for her either from the very start of the story, yet sometimes she was the one making things harder for herself than they had to be. Caitlin's pride is bigger than most of the Rockies, but her heart is even bigger than that. She is hiding a secret though and it is a whooper of one too boot.

Then there is Mike who is put in a very interesting position and what he does shows his character. Oh this man is holding his own secret as well. Almost everything Mike does shows his faith and how Jesus loves everyone. Oh there is faults that come out as well, so that he is not some perfect and impossible man.

It seems from the start things just seem impossible for things to work out, with all the hurdles that must be crossed. Some of those hurdles are major, yet frankly at the same one knew things couldn't possibly end up the way that Ms. Davids made it seem like it was going. I say that they couldn't possibly end up the way it appears to be leaning is because frankly it wouldn't be for a good ending unless something really twisted happens. Well nothing twisted happened so things are all working good.

As Caitlin learned that there are some secrets that are not worth keeping for there can be some pretty big consequences. This is a great reminder that there are some things more important than a person's pride.

Regardless of all the secrets Caitlin is a woman who is strong and determined to do everything she has to in order to take care of her little baby. She overcomes so many issues yet at the same time there is God's hand is how some of those issues are overcome. It is how things are working out like they do that makes everything so beautiful but heartbreaking. Heartbreaking because of what was going on with Mike.

It might seem at times as if things are not moving forward but it is in the little things that shows how the story is indeed moving forward. At times it seems as if there is some steps backwards but they are important to the story and the wonderful ending.

This is a book that is you are able to get your hands on then it is well worth the reading. I totally enjoyed this book and hope all who do read the book will enjoy it as much.